Dammit, there’s a filk in here somewhere!

So I’m driving home from Cincinnati last Friday night/Saturday morning (PC rollout at a Smith Barney office … I made back more than the cost of gas, and it keeps my agency happy), when Jefferson Airplane’s “White Rabbit” comes on the radio.

And all I can hear during the chorus is “Go ask Albus”. And not one drop more inspiration than that, despite rolling it over in my brain since then. Feh.

So I hereby toss it out to any of y’all who can write lyrics.

See, this is why I don’t write filk. I get one line, and that’s all.

10 comments so far

  1. azurelunatic on

    One spell makes you shiver
    Andd one spell makes you fall
    But the spells that Hogwarts teach you
    don’t do anything at all
    Go ask Albus
    if you are just small

    • azurelunatic on

      Ack, premature posting! [this one’s a beta too, but better]

      One spell makes you shiver
      Andd one spell makes you fall
      But the spells that Hogwarts give you
      don’t do anything at all
      Go ask Albus
      if you are just small

      And if you go
      chasing white-masks
      but you can’t beat them all
      Tell ’em a naughty Dark Arts teacher
      Has made you feel the call
      Call Albus
      he’ll fix it all

      When the prophecies and portents
      they tell you where to go
      And you’ve just had some kind of potion
      and your mind is moving low
      Go ask Albus
      I think he’ll know

      When loyalty and bloodlines
      have crossed, and allies fled
      And the Seer’s talking nonsense
      And the Dark Lord’s ‘Off with his head’
      Remember
      what the Dursleys said
      You are dead
      You are dead

      • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

        Re: Ack, premature posting! [this one’s a beta too, but better]

        LOL! I had “you’ve just had some kind of potion” in my head, but couldn’t polish it off. :)

        • azurelunatic on

          Re: Ack, premature posting! [this one’s a beta too, but better]

          I wanted to include, for a punch line somewhere, “Don’t tell Albus, he’ll make you go” or something, but I’m not sure how to fit that in.

      • filkertom on

        Bertie Bott’s had Better Butter; But, he said, This Butter’s Beta….

        Not bad atall atall. :)

        • azurelunatic on

          Re: Bertie Bott’s had Better Butter; But, he said, This Butter’s Beta….

          Thanks!

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          Re: Bertie Bott’s had Better Butter; But, he said, This Butter’s Beta….

          I may not be able to write filk on my own, but at least I can be a trigger mechanism! This is at least the third filk that came out of a comment of mine … Maureen’s done one (although I swear, I don’t remember the conversation that came out of, but she credits/blames me for it anyway :)), you did one on the 24 Hour project (although that probably shouldn’t count, since you were looking for comments to start filks), and now this one.

          Maybe this OVFF, I’ll just leave index cards with weird ideas lying around and see what happens. :)

      • ap_aelfwine on

        Re: Ack, premature posting! [this one’s a beta too, but better]

        Cute!

        Good on both of you for this :-)

        • azurelunatic on

          Re: Ack, premature posting! [this one’s a beta too, but better]

          Thank you! It was just too good to let pass. It practically wrote itself.

  2. meadow on

    LOL, now I have an image of Harry in a tub a la Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas in my head.


Leave a Reply

