Another Best SF list?

Okay, here’s the deal. This is boston.com‘s top 50 SF shows of all time. Bold if you watched it religiously. Italic if you watched it a little, cared enough to keep up sorta. Underline if you saw it a couple times but couldn’t really care less. Comment if you feel like it.

  1. Star Trek
    I remember sitting on my dad’s lap watching this show in its original run. It’s aged pretty well, all things considered. And it’s the only Trek I’ll watch any more.
  2. Battlestar Galactica (new)
  3. Star Trek: The Next Generation
    There was a lot of promise here, but I think the show slowly skidded off track over its run. Lost me along the way.
  4. The X-Files
    There were one or two supremely memorable episodes (‘A Very Brady X-Files’ sticks in my mind in particular) but again, this is a show that never could quite keep me hooked.
  5. Babylon 5
    This is the best SF drama series ever. Period.
  6. Stargate SG-1
  7. The Twilight Zone
  8. Dr Who
    Oh, dear. What can one say about this show that hasn’t been said repeatedly already? Loved it, even the early super-cheezy eps.
  9. Mystery Science Theater 3000
    Best. SF. Comedy. Ever. There should be a separate list for that category just so this can be #1.
  10. Sliders
  11. Lost
    I’ve seen one episode, but it’s interesting. I think I might have to go back for more. And it’s a little odd seeing a psycho Delenn. :)
  12. Xena: Warrior Princess
    If I was a straight guy, or a lesbian, I might’ve cared.
  13. The Outer Limits
    For whatever reason, this show never caught me the way Twilight Zone did.
  14. Star Trek: Voyager
    Started off well enough, but lost me forever with “Beam the cheese to sickbay.” No need, the cheese is right there on screen.
  15. Logan’s Run
  16. Flash Gordon
  17. Firefly
  18. V
  19. Dark Angel
  20. The Hitchhiker
  21. Quantum Leap
  22. Andromeda
    Some nice eye candy, but nothing that made me want to watch.
  23. Tales from the Crypt
  24. Wonder Woman
    I know a lot of guys my age who were yanked kicking and screaming through puberty by this show. Needless to say, I wasn’t one of them.
  25. The Jetsons
    Ah, hm. I don’t know what to think about this being here when ‘Red Dwarf’ isn’t.
  26. Stargate Atlantis
  27. Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  28. Adventures of Superman
  29. The Six Million Dollar Man
    Okay, I hate to admit it, but I did in fact watch this show. Ow.
  30. Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea
  31. Alien Nation
  32. My Favorite Martian
  33. Lost In Space
  34. The Avengers
    I remember liking this show a lot in the 70s, but I haven’t seen it since then, so I can’t remember why. And if this is here, where the hell is ‘The Prisoner’?
  35. Battlestar Galactica (original)
    I went off this show so hard that I haven’t been able to bring myself to tune into the new version, despite assurances that it’s nothing like the original.
  36. The Bionic Woman
  37. Space: 1999
    Like many others on this list, this brings up a question of why another show didn’t make the list: in this case, where is ‘UFO’? Anyway, this was a fun piece of fluff that I always made time for.
  38. Batman
    Adam West rocks. Or needs therapy. Or both.
  39. The Man From U.N.C.L.E.
  40. The Thunderbirds
  41. Futurama
  42. Science Fiction Theater
  43. Nowhere Man
  44. Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman
    I woulda done Dean Cain in a heartbeat. Woof.
  45. The Greatest American Hero
  46. That Was Then
  47. Buck Rogers in the 25th Century
    Annoying little robot notwithstanding, this was a pretty good show.
  48. Third Rock from the Sun
  49. The Wild Wild West
  50. Earth–Final Conflict

The big questions are: where the hell are Red Dwarf, Blake’s Seven, The Prisoner and Farscape?

I’m getting pretty tired of ST:TOS being inevitably awarded the #1 spot, too. Okay, it’s historically highly significant, but B5 was so much better written and acted.

6 comments so far

  1. avon_deer on

    Blakes7. Goodness.. that takes me back to the womb. I saw the repeats on BBC1 in 1985. There are plans to remake it as well. The BBC appear to be going back to their roots and actually taking viewing figure risks again.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      There are several really unforgivable oversights on this list. Sure, it’s good that they remembered The Doctor, but that’s far from being the UK’s only contribution to televised SF–we’ll just pretend that ‘Helping Henry’ never happened, and move on. :)

      The most egregious oversight is the failure to include ‘The Prisoner’. If ‘The Avengers’ qualifies as SF, then ‘The Prisoner’ surely does.

      Man, I haven’t seen B7 in ages. It vanished from public TV the same time Dr Who did. A friend of mine got me AVIs of the new Who, tho, and Eccleston’s great. Too bad he’s already decided to leave.

  2. chilayse on

    I read these off to my stepfather, who is a big sci-fi fan.

    I let him tell me what was number 1. yeah, predictable.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      And I say that’s just a knee-jerk reaction. I really don’t think ST:TOS can realistically be called ‘the best SF TV show ever’ anymore. Most important, historically? Quite probably. But not the best.< ?P>

      • chilayse on

        his major gripe was when stuff like buffy and xena appeared on the list..he said they’re not sci fi.

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          Well, Buffy is sorta skiffy. Xena isn’t, though. But if they were going to cut in shows like Buffy and Xena, where was Kolchak: The Night Stalker?


Leave a Reply

