Um … the hell?

Toledo experienced a riot this weekend, over a march by neo-Nazis… funny, I thought those guys were all in the Shithead-In-Chief’s administration now.

It’s a little weird thinking about rioting going on in my home town. I have really vague memories of the racial unrest in Toledo in ’67 and ’68, when my dad was in the Army Guard and would be sent out to try to keep things from getting out of hand. Of course, I didn’t understand it then. All I knew was Dad was sometimes gone unusual hours and Mom was stressed about it. Dad later said one of the weirdest–and hardest–things he ever did was sit in a Jeep with a machine gun mounted on it in his own home city, praying that they wouldn’t be called on to use the damn thing.

Toledo being Toledo, of course, apparently the rioting didn’t begin in earnest until some hours after the neo-Nazis were actually evacuated and their demonstration cancelled–when there was no reason for a counter-demonstration anymore. Sheesh.

4 comments so far

  1. avon_deer on

    I know a fur in Toledo. I am sure he was not involved in all this, but I hope he is safe all the same.

  2. dragonscholar on

    I never associate Toledo and Riot, really.

    Is it just me, or does Ohio only end up in the news for shitty reasons?


Leave a Reply

