Utterly unprepared, but let the music roll anyway

Sheesh. I have had no time to prepare for OVFF, my work schedule has been so screwy. However, I’m ready. I have the room reserved–and great thanks to the Clarion Dublin staffer who, when I walked in there Friday afternoon after getting off work, let me have it for the convention rate even though I was way, waaaaaaaaaaaay late in making my reservation.

So anyway, no, I haven’t been able to practice much (or at all), so I don’t know how much I’ll actually play this weekend. I’ll bring Sergei (the theremin) and Phil (the bass), and the acoustic. I’m toying with briefly bringing Random to celebrate the 13 years since I got him in the con suite at OVFF in 1992.

I’m also thinking about bringing Elly (my telescope–so named for Elly Kedward, the Blair Witch, because she makes me go out into dark creepy places far from civilization :)) because this weekend will be a tremendously close approach of Mars–not as good as last year, but about as good as it’s gonna get for the next 60,000 years, and what the hell, it’s something I can do for my fellow conventioneers if my chops are off. If the seeing’s good, my ‘scope has just enough resolution to make out the Martian ice cap, at least if Mars is tilted just right.

I figure what the hell, there’s a lot of space fen among filkers, there might be some interest in an informal tour of the night sky as a brief break from the music making. :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

