Okay, this is somewhere between sorta cool and really amazingly disturbing.

If diamonds are forever, does this count as immortality?

16 comments so far

  1. jungle_goddess on

    I already told Noah that’s what I want done when I die.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      What I want to know is: how many widowers have given their late wives as an engagement ring?

      No, scratch that, I really don’t want to know. Especially if the answer is greater than zero.

  2. adinasauce on

    Your lifegem is the cheapest, prettiest cubic zirconia we could pass off as your loved one. Look! We pulled it right from the ashes! Instadiamond! From ashes! Really!

    .. I’m the only one highly disturbed by this, aren’t I. :\

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      No, I find it kinda disturbing too … I just haven’t figured out if it’s cooler than it is disturbing, or more disturbing than it is cool.

  3. bizarra on

    OOOkay… but I agree with you. That’s both kinda cool and kinda… WTF? LOL

    BTW… do they sell OVFF tix at the door and how much are they? May end up going just Saturday.. but we’ll see what the weekend brings. :-)

  4. cjfringe on

    I find this highly highly disturbing.

    More than giving your late wife as an engagement ring, what about a golddigger marrying an octogenarian, then getting all the money and a nice diamond ring from him to boot?
    “Yes I loved old Charlie, really I did. I carry him with me always. Like my ring?”

    Ewwww.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      EEK! I hadn’t even thought about that scenario! Although I think the cost to produce the diamond is more than the actual gem value of the diamond. But still. Eek.

  5. soundwave106 on

    So basically, this will give you an opportunity to always wear your urn.

    Yeah.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      What I wasn’t able to readily track down was just how many diamonds they can get out of a typical set of cremains. I mean, could I populate a ring? Earrings? A brooch? A tiara?

      Nah. I only dream of being gay enough to be a tiara. :)

  6. jayteeone on

    I’ve heard of ancestor worship, but that’s taking it a bit far.

  7. surakofb5 on

    I’ve heard about this before. I guess it just didn’t seem all that odd to me. But I’m a mad scientist, so not much seems odd to me. Synthetic diamonds have been around for years, after all. It was just a matter of time…


Leave a Reply

