Three cheers for the UK!

For approving civil unions. Some may consider it not quite the same as a “proper” marriage, but I say a step forward is a step forward–after all, the UK still had laws criminalizing homosexuality on the books within the last 40 years.

So, well done, lads. Wish us luck on this side of the Big Wet–we need it.

13 comments so far

  1. chilayse on

    I consider civil unions and marriage the same thing. >.> As long as everyone has rights I don’t care what they call it. But then again I believe a majority of americans see marriage as a joke anyway.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      As long as the legal rights are identical, yes, they’re the same thing with a fig leaf to make the sociopathically “religious” people happy. Why we should care about the extremist Xian community’s happiness, I don’t know. They don’t care about ours.

      • chilayse on

        Because we’re better people than they are?

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          That theory works for me. However, there’s nothing in my theology that demands I turn the other cheek, so better person or not, I really don’t care how many whack-job toes I step on anymore.

          • chilayse on

            because if we do they bitch less? >.> It’s always annoying to hear people whine.

  2. lovehotel on

    They also criminalized witchcraft – or had it on the books – until 1951 if I’m not mistaken.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Give or take, yeah. I think homosexuality was decriminalized in the late 60s or early 70s, but I really don’t know, and I’m just too lazy to look it up. :)

  3. afeldspar on

    oooh, most excellent. Hopefully the shade of Alan Turing can rest easier now…

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      He was, in fact, the first person I thought of.

      I didn’t even know that the UK was preparing a civil union law. I’d also like to see the statistics on marriage–divorce rates among straights, among gays, etc–in the countries that have allowed marriage or civil unions.

      I’d wager it has affected the divorce rate not a whit. That, for arguments that it will “undermine the institution of marriage”.

  4. cirruskitfox on

    I actually prefer civil unions. Marriage as I see it is a religious affair. Why should I care if I (and a potential but still nonexistant partner) are recognized by the church, as long as the government does and allows us the same rights?

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I refuse to see marriage strictly as a religious affair, because I don’t want to cede that ground to the right wing loony Xian wing. But then, I think that governments should only issue civil unions, and that marriage become a term of art for any church to use–not just Christian.


Leave a Reply

