2005 in review, 2006 anticipation

Okay. I only made one serious resolution last year, and I failed to meet it: that of completing a story and submitting it for professional publication. I’m not so deluded as to think that I would automatically make the sale, of course! The submission would have been enough, and I was unable to complete anything that I thought was worth submitting. Ah well. So my 2005 resolution carries forward, and I add to it… well, hell, I dunno. I haven’t thought of one yet. I think it will have to do with getting more serious about my music and laying down more tracks (and doing it right this time, thanks for the advice, filkertom :)) and making them available for folks to listen to.

The thing I wanted most out of 2005–the summary removal of The Shithead, Darth Cheney, et al. from office and their rapid arrival in the dock in The Hague for a well-deserved series of war crimes trials–obviously didn’t happen. This too gets added to my wishlist for 2006. The main wish for this year is for a Democratic takeover of the House and Senate, the odds of which look better all the time–Diebold notwithstanding. So I guess the main wish is for clean elections here. I mean, if the last two had been honest, we wouldn’t be in the fix we’re in anyway.

A job would be nice, too.

2 comments so far

  1. tarkrai on

    The thing I wanted most out of 2005–the summary removal of The Shithead, Darth Cheney, et al. from office and their rapid arrival in the dock in The Hague for a well-deserved series of war crimes trials–obviously didn’t happen. This too gets added to my wishlist for 2006.

    Hate to say it, but I doubt that it will happen.

    OTOH, what I think *will* happen is, in its own subtle way, much more satisfying.

    My biggest fear about the Patriot Act was that they might try to push through a removal of the 2 term limitation on the office of President. They didn’t.

    Ergo- after Bush won the 2004 elections, he became at that moment a lame duck. I repeat- a lame duck presidency.

    This Administration has had unusual powers for social change in our country due to 9/11; and the general backing of the public to do so. However, those powers have been on the wane over the last 18 months. If they still *had* that power, the Social Security reform would have gone through. The failure of that effort started showing the cracks in the Bush Combine’s abilities to Get Things Done.

    The forcing of a reduction in forces in Iraq is another sign; and the forcing of this Administration, against their will, to start publicizing schedules for our removal from that nation.

    Don’t underestimate what impact the words ‘lame duck’ have on an Administration. They can’t go back to the polls and get elected again. The rest of the Washington insiders have written them off- they’re only here a couple more years- who’s gonna be on the throne next? That’s what they’re concerned with.

    They stop listening to the current people in power.

    In other words, the longer they’re in power, the more they will be subjected to the same strong arm tactics they’ve used on the rest of us. Subtle, yes. Satisfying? Definitely.

    Good luck on the job front- keeping the fingers crossed for you!

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Yeah, but I really want to see that smirking chimp humiliated, publicly and irretrievably. Merely being made irrelevant isn’t enough.

      The cruelest–and therefore most satysifying–thing I can wish for him is that he gets just enough of a clue to understand, once and for all, what a total and complete fuckup he has been.

      Ironically, I still believe the two term limitation should be repealed. Sure, that meant the risk of a third Reagan term, but Clinton would have been re-elected handily in ’00 and we wouldn’t be in this mess–realistically, Clinton and Reagan are the only presidents that would have had any sort of a chance to win a third term anyway, and Reagan probably wouldn’t have run in ’88 anyway, due to his age.

      And yeah, I don’t expect a war crimes trial… at least not until after he’s been expunged from the White House, be it by impeachment or retirement.


Leave a Reply

