Excuse me while my head explodes.

Fortunately, userinfocashewlou left a couple cherry stouts here from his visit, becauseafter dealing all day with Insane Federal Paperwork (and getting it shipped outta here), I no longer care whether I get approved for doing contract work for Social Security.

This is the first paperwork that has asked me to list all my relations, including ex-spouses and deceased children. In addition, just to do eight-plus hours of work tomorrow with no guarantee of additional work, has cost me $50 out of pocket today–$20 to get fingerprinted twice (they needed two copies), $20 for a replacement black ink cartridge for my printer, and $10 for a new belt to replace the one that committed suicide this morning. So I’m going to drink four beers (the above mentioned cherry stouts, plus two java stouts now so I can get a little hammered today, and still be useful at the SocSec office tomorrow. Tomorrow, they have no choice but to have me on board. After that, no promises–they have to do a security check on me, and at this phase, I would not be surprised if my anti-Bush writings get me on some watchlist.

Just… fuck.

Edit: Make that $70 out of pocket to work tomorrow–today–whatever. My good shoes committed suicide, too. AAAUGH!

8 comments so far

  1. jungle_goddess on

    L’Chaim!!

  2. crystalgee on

    how did you hear about that job?

    Good luck to you!

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Placement agency. They’re not technically going to have time to clear me to work tomorrow, so I don’t know if there’s going to be more or not… but there could be, assuming I clear the background check. Then, I’ll be going all over Ohio, more than likely–though I asked for no Cleveland area jobs because it’s a three-hour drive. Toledo’s 2.5 hours, but I have family there I can crash with. Dayton and Cinci are worth driving there and back in one day.

  3. ataniell93 on

    *hugs* What’d they want to know about ME?

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Name, year of birth, current street address, and I think phone number. You may get a call asking about me–this is for the most basic security clearance level. And they wanted everything just for that. Most incredible bullshit I’ve ever seen for a job application.

  4. jayteeone on

    List me as one of your deceased children, that will throw them for a loop.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Anything to make the Feds go “Wha-fuh?” sounds like a plan to me.

      That was the question that threw me for a loop anyway, having to list Valeria. Almost 13 years ago… hard to believe.


Leave a Reply

