Another sign of the End! I’m getting scared!

As hard as I might try, I cannot think of a worse casting idea than this. And I mean, I tried to come up with something worse–and you know what my imagination is like.

Suddenly, the Apocalypse sounds like a good idea…

EDIT: Here’s the original MTV.uk article… not a whole lot more detail. The longer this goes without someone official popping up and saying “Kidding! We were just kidding!” the queasier I get.

11 comments so far

  1. filkertom on

    Maybe they were casting for someone who’s used to not eating.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I… wow. I mean, I am literally physically incapable of comprehending the sort of mental gymnastics necessary to even contemplate casting like this! The only thing I can figure is that the director wanted to get some early notoriety. That’s the only thing that makes sense–he wanted an early splash so he could corral some more cash and some other actors.

      On a side note: I actually got to see Mother Teresa once, and got to shake her hand. She was speaking at Rosary Cathedral in Toledo, way back when I was still Catholic. She was about four-foot-nothing, and radiated a presence that was like a raw force of nature. And her canonization, although already fast-tracked, is still taking too damn long.

  2. ratmmjess on

    AHAHAHAHA! Hilarious. :-)

  3. tharain on

    that…that….guh.

    ::head hits desk and bounces::

  4. sailormac on

    This has GOT to be some kind of early April Fool’s joke. O_O

  5. chilayse on

    I’d like them to cast a no name that’s about the same height and build as mother teresa was…that can really really act.

    And save the big names for other performances in the movie.

    BTW..mute a movie or tv show and see how much people are counting on the fact that you’re listening to what they’re saying/how they look rather than how they’re acting and the emotions the character’s supposed to be feeling.

  6. jayteeone on

    I’m not Catholic, and I find the thought of that heathen trollop being given the part of Mother Theresa an absolute insult.

    Also a side note on Britney Spears. For the safety of her child it should be taken away from her.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      If I were at all convinced of her acting ability, and if she bore any resemblance to Mother Teresa, she could be a practicing Satanist for all I care, as long as she could do it right.

      And you’re forgetting the First Rule of Celebrity: like right-wingers, the rules are different for them.

  7. surakofb5 on

    I can only conclude that the director is a moron who knows nothing about current events in the United States. I’m sure there are dozens of genuine actresses who would love to play such a ground-breaking role as Mother Theresa.

  8. equinoxx on

    One almost feels the temptation to swear, “by all that’s holy,”

    …but clearly, nothing is anymore.

    BTW, howzitgoin, ik?

    -the once and occasional lando5


Leave a Reply

