Another sign of the Eschaton: I found a Republican I can respect.

Give me Republicanism like this, and I will consider voting for the occasional Republican again. Once in a while. My heart is a Progressive one, but even I don’t object to a sensible center. I’d like an option other than ‘no vote’ when the Democrat is an idiot–hey, it happens.

There are Republicans and Conservatives, and there are Bushies. There came a time when the GOP turned on Nixon and pushed him out before he could take them all with him (he almost did anyway–the ’74 midterm elections devastated the GOP). It’s time that happens again. Someone that The Idiot can’t threaten, scare, or buy (and that Darth Cheney can’t shoot) needs to tell him what reality looks like.

5 comments so far

  1. dragonscholar on

    Ah, Christine *swoon*. Did you see her on the Colbert Report?

    Frankly, the Republicans are due for an internal civil war – Bush-cultists versus the non-cultists.

  2. tharain on

    That’s the kind of Republican I was and, truth be told, still am. I’m registered Republican so I can go stealth in the primaries. C. T-W is one I’d have trouble arguing against. She’s a sharp woman.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      ‘Course, New Jersey isn’t the sort of state that’s gonna turn out a Trent Lott or Jesse Helms. It turns out Republicans like Whitman, and Rep. Christopher Shays (who voted ‘no’ on all four articles of witch-huntery… er, impeachment against President Clinton).

      I’m not at all surprised that the moderate Republicans are starting to agitate. That wing of the party has been increasingly ignored for the last 25 years. Heck, I’d even prefer to see the moderat-to-liberal Republicans and the moderate-to-conservative Democrats get together and form a third, centrist party and force both the Dems and the GOP to reassess themselves.


Leave a Reply

