So f**ked up, it has to be real.

Via ataniell93. Apparently, quantum computers work best when turned off. Unlike computers running Microsoft, which barely run at all. :)

Edit: Here’s the entry from The Register. The brain exploding part is where they say “In a sense, it is the possibility that the algorithm could run which prevents the algorithm from running.” Ow ow ow ow ow!

6 comments so far

  1. argh_jim on

    Hey now; that’s going be personal pretty soon!

    I’ll see what I can do about turning things around. ;)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Oh, tell me you haven’t rented your soul to the Borg of Redmond…

      • argh_jim on

        Resistance is futile!

        I guess you haven’t been reading my LJ. Well, think of it this way… I’ve been in the employ of Lockheed Martin for the last decade. Relatively speaking, this is a step back from the abyss.

  2. jayteeone on

    I will always have a Windows machine for gaming, but I would prefer Mac. Sadly, Mac just doesn’t have the game designer’s ears. I do have a Win 98 box that I’ll be turning into a Linux box, but that’s for after graduation when I’ll actually have time for such endeavors.

    An algorithm that prevents another algorithm from running? That’s easy!
    Just about any kind of loop would do the trick.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      No, it’s the algorithm that, in running, prevents *itself* from running. That wet splortch you heard was my head exploding.


Leave a Reply

