Pause, and reflect, please.

Learned from filkertom: Rev William Sloane Coffin, social activist and partly the inspiration for Garry Trudeau’s Rev Scot Sloan in Doonesbury, has passed away.

I had the good fortune to meet him, quite briefly, when he gave a talk at McGaw Chapel at Wooster in, oh, ’81 or thereabouts (JT? Can you help me on the date?). I hung around after the talk; he was taking additional questions informally, and just generally hanging out. He noticed that I was wearing a Solidarnosc button (Polish kid in the early 80s without a Solidarity button? Not possible), and asked where I got it. I don’t remember where I got mine, but he got his from me. :)

So, a moment for one of the people who was truly Christian, in the best sense of the word. There are precious few like him.

1 comment so far

  1. jayteeone on

    Yeah, it was my senior year 81-82, and your sophmore year. The dude was truly great and definitely loved. Him and the Berrigan brothers along with MLKjr, and Ghandi were definitely heroes of mine in those days, and still are.

    Pass well brother, pass well.


Leave a Reply

