Evil!

Philips is trying to patent a way to make watching advertisements mandatory.

Guess I’m never buying Philips equipment again.

14 comments so far

  1. avon_deer on

    I am sickened by that. Surprised that a company with the standing of Philips would stoop so low. I had always seen them as the least evil of the major electronics corporations. Maybe I was wrong.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      And they made sure the technology is there to extort more money for the ability to change channels or fast-forward.

      I have a Philips TV and a Philips VCR, and I’m really happy with both… but not happy enough to support this kind of bullshit.

  2. tharain on

    That’s severely abgefukt. I’m soooo glad I don’t watch TV anymore.

    Asshats.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      See, I can never kick the TV habit altogether. I need my Alton Brown, my Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, my Golf Channel. I have my limits. :)

  3. nsingman on

    I’m surprised that more people aren’t just boycotting advertisers, too. It does make me pleased that we don’t have a DVR, though. We do it the old-fashioned way: tape and fast-forward. :-)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      My current VHS has a feature that automatically marks and fast-forwards through commercials. That, I love.

      • nsingman on

        With any luck, there will be a significant enough backlash against this that it will be neutered, either in production or with a relatively easy modification.

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          Even the Philips guy said he thought there would be a negative reaction from consumers… just unbelievable.

          • billfl on

            Figured that out all by hisself, did he?

            All the other companies (Sony, Panasonic, RCA, etc) have to do is not install this thing, and they’ll clean up.

  4. equinoxx on

    When this story broke on, I believe it was either Ars Technica or Slashdot, there was some speculation, based on Philips’ record of relative consumer-friendliness, that the patent filing may have been a pre-emptive strike to keep anyone else from bringing this horror to market… for at least 17 years in the U.S., anyway.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I would have believed that as at least a possibility, had they not specifically mentioned that it would allow making consumers pay to be able to change channels and fast forward.

  5. surakofb5 on

    Grrrr. Sounds like the technology that prevents you from fast-forwarding through the FBI warning on a DVD, but on steroids.

    At least it only affects digital equipment. As long as you still have good old analog VCRs, you’re fine! But if you have Tivo or DVR, you may be in trouble. And avoid digital cable or digital TV tuners.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      What pisses me off most about this is the assumption that we’re just eyeballs to lob ads at. It does nothing to enhance the viewing experience–in fact, the potential to degrade it is tremendous. What if you just realized something you wanted to record was on a different channel and… oh, damn! Can’t switch away from the commercial!


Leave a Reply

