Woo! It’s almost time for communist kickball!

(Blame cashewlou for that one… :))

Being one of the three or four Americans who will actually watch some of the World Cup, I was surprised to learn that the Americans are actually competitive–we’re ranked #4, behind Brazil (#1, of course–I think there’s some sort of international treaty that requires Brazil to have the #1 soccer team), the Czech Republic (in our group, dammit), and the Netherlands.

When did that happen?

9 comments so far

  1. avon_deer on

    Communist kickball?! What the hell is that supposed to mean? ;)

    Speaking from a personal level, I am dreading this June. As I nearly always end up having to pretend I’m Scottish or Irish or something. whenever I go abroad. I suppose I now know how you lot feel with Bush in charge.

    • I don’t remember where he got ‘communist kickball’ as a nickname for soccer, but once he mentioned it to me (I think it was during the last World Cup), it stuck in my mind. :)

      Oh, would that The Idiot were only in charge of the NFL or Major League Baseball or something equally unimportant, and that hooliganism was the worst of his sins…

  2. cashewlou on

    I don’t remember saying that. o.O

    But I’ll take credit for it; it is clever! o(:o)

  3. jayteeone on

    Go Czech Republic!!!!

  4. thattallguy201 on

    Big talk over here. I just went out and bought an orange shirt. :)

  5. qthewetsprocket on

    Being one of the three or four Americans who will actually watch some of the World Cup, I was surprised to learn that the Americans are actually competitive–we’re ranked #4, behind Brazil (#1, of course–I think there’s some sort of international treaty that requires Brazil to have the #1 soccer team), the Czech Republic (in our group, dammit), and the Netherlands.

    When did that happen?

    …when the american womens’ team kicked the ass of the collected might of the soccer world while everyone else wasn’t looking. now the american guys, being all, you know, american and stuff, have to win to prove that a bunch of girls aren’t better at their sport than they are. that’d be downright unamerican. :P~

    Q
    PS…vindaloo! vindaloo! vindaloo vindaloo nah nah…!


Leave a Reply

