If it’s true, I’m ordering the DVD set RIGHT NOW.

This from qthewetsprocket some days ago (I’m a lazy sod, so sue me): I’d already heard that they’re talking about re-mounting “The Prisoner”… even though they probably won’t film it at Portmeirion. What pushes it over the top is that they’re in talks with former Doctor Christopher Eccleston for the show.

I can see the dialogue already.

“Who are you?”

“I am Number Two.”

“Is that because you’re full of–”

“ENOUGH!!”

6 comments so far

  1. argh_jim on

    I posted about this too, some time back, but that last story you quote….

    Lost was influenced by The Prisoner… how? It takes place near the ocean and they can’t escape? That seems a bit of a stretch to me.

    • I dunno. I haven’t watched Lost but once. Interesting… but not enough to bring me back week after week. I think maybe they’re talking about shows that don’t release their secrets easily.

      • qthewetsprocket on

        it’s more a sort of ‘these people are all trapped on an island, and no one’s quite sure why, although it might have something to do with the government and there’s definitely a conspiracy going on’ kind of vibe they took from it.

        of course, once they’ve cast eccleston the only thing i ask (apart from hiring damn good writers) is that they hire xtc to do the music for it. the quality of my copy of their video ‘the man who sailed around his soul’ is frankly execrable, but still worth its weight in gold solely for the shot of andy partridge getting bowled over by rover.

        • Wow, I hadn’t even thought about the music. I don’t know anything about XTC other than that TMBG put them up against Adam Ant. :)

  2. qthewetsprocket on

    ah, goodness, how to describe the splendor that is xtc in only a few words? well, youtube’s got a respectable number of their videos up, including the british version of the mayor of simpleton (my favorite) and dear god (their most popular – and, oddly for them, their most morose – song/video).

    they showed their affinity to 1960’s britain by disguising themselves as a long-lost 60’s psychedelic pop group for two whole albums in the mid-80’s.

    for the classiness of their fan base, i’d check out andy partridge’s opening theme for the doomed fox series wonderfalls (writers from both buffy and lost worked on that show), and for a good old giggle, it’s hard to beat the band telling their own story with barbie dolls and woolworth’s toys.

    does that help? :)

    • EEEEE!!!! They’re the Dukes of Stratosphear?

      Yes! Yesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyes!!! Oh, jeez, yes, they need to do the music!


Leave a Reply

