I Fought the Crowd, and the Crowd Won

Well, foo. I didn’t get Phil Mickelson’s autograph, but it wasn’t for lack of effort. Jack’s not playing any more, and Tiger wasn’t there. But I had a pretty good Memorial anyway.

Needless to say, I followed Mickelson during the pro-am today… at least through his first nine. When he made the turn, I headed for somewhere shady, wishing to suffer neither heat stroke nor my first myocardial infarction. Doggone it, I quit smoking, I’m supposed to be healthier now!

Highlights of the week: couple good autographs (Stewart Cink, Nick Price, Paul Azinger, Vijay Singh–who I really don’t like, but you gotta respect his game), LOTS of great photos, and I was almost trampled by Jack Nicklaus and his accompanying autograph seekers when he make a wrong turn up a dead end where I thought I’d be safe to take pictures. I got Nicklaus’ autograph, who knew taking pictures was just as dangerous? Anyway, the video of that is pretty chaotic–and therefore captures the moment pretty well. Jack didn’t stop until he was literally right in front of me. You won’t believe the video…

Got some footage of Daly whacking balls into the next county, Bubba Watson making Daly look like a short-knocker, Furyk squirting one sideways like a regular duffer… yeah.

The lack of Lefty notwithstanding, this year’s autograph haul wasn’t bad, though it was pretty light. Chris Couch (recent winner at the Zurich Classic in New Orleans), Shaun Micheel (former PGA Champion), Heath Slocum, ball nuker Bubba Watson, former Masters champion Mike Weir, Charles Howell III, Bo Van Pelt, Brad Faxon, Tim Petrovic, Kevin Hall, former PGA champion Rich Beem, former PGA champion Nick Price, former PGA champion Paul Azinger, former PGA and Masters champion Vijay Singh, Stephen Ames, J.J. Henry, Ben Crane, Stewart Cink.

Next year, Lefty for sure!

2 comments so far

  1. surakofb5 on

    Hey, you got Nicklaus’ autograph. That sounds like a pretty successful day at the Memorial to me.

    • Oh, I’ve had Jack’s for a couple years. I don’t even try anymore–it’s someone else’s turn. I’ll try to find a host for the video. It’s pretty accurate as to what it’s like to be in the middle of an autograph scrum. Unlike conventions, there’s no line.


Leave a Reply

