May the four winds blow him safely home.

Coming as rather a shock to me is news that the Grateful Dead’s last keyboardist, Vince Welnick, died five days ago, confirmed today of a suicide. Info here, here, here, and of course at Dead Net.

ataniell93, you may recall Welnick from your one Dead show.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go play some very loud music and be heartbroken for a while.

3 comments so far

  1. ataniell93 on

    The curse of the keyboards strikes again :(

    My guess is that if they ever ask Nicolas to play, neither Chuck nor Draco would permit it.

    • The ironic thing is that the one surviving keyboardist of the five the band have had is their first one, Tom Constanten. I had come to the decision just after posting that anyone who compared it to being drummer for Spinal Tap would get banned from my LJ for two weeks (anyone reading this, please don’t–it’s just not funny when it happens in real life), but I played the bitterness out of my system–the ’94 Bertha we saw cleared my head, and the Althea and Uncle John’s Band from the same show finished the job.

      However, as John Lennon once famously screamed, “I’ve got blisters on me fingers!”

  2. jayteeone on

    *Hugs* Hang in there dude.


Leave a Reply

