25 lines of 25 random songs…(meme)

EDIT: Eight down!

EDIT EDIT: Make that ten down–I decided I was too tight on the title of #21, I have, come to think of it, heard it called the title ataniell93 gave. And we had another tag.

Step 1: Put your MP3 player or whatever on random. Me, I loaded every non-instrumental, non-spoken word MP3 on my hard drive for maximal variability into Winamp.

Step 2: Post a line from the first 25 songs that play, no matter how embarassing.

Step 3: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly.

Looking them up on Google or any other search engine is cheating!

If you know what band is my favorite and their music, you have a serious leg up on the competition (they made up nearly 80% of my MP3 list). But they did a lot of covers, and there are a few other surprises in here. And there’s one that if cashewlou doesn’t get, I’ll hear him scream all the way up here… and one I’ll hear the scream for if he does get it. :)

  1. All that I am askin’ for is ten gold dollars
  2. Outside in the distance a wildcat did growl,
    Two riders were approaching, the wind began to howl
    –tagged by afeldspar
  3. Fortune comes a crawlin’, Calliope woman
    Spinning that curious sense of your own
  4. Half of my life I spent doin’ time for some other fucker’s crime
  5. All the birds that were singing
    Are flown except you alone
    –tagged by ataniell93
  6. Without a warning you broke my heart, taken it baby, tore it apart
  7. When I get near you, The games begin to drag me down–tagged by afeldspar
  8. Comic book colors on a violin river crying Leonardo words from out a silk trombone
  9. Said my prayers, went to bed, that’s the last they saw of me
  10. Maybe tomorrow a bullet may find me
  11. There’s no need for you to be worrying about all those people,
    You never see those people anyway.
  12. Running on a treadmill going nowhere
    People passing by stopping only to stare
  13. See you got your list out, say your peace and piss off.–tagged by billfl
  14. If I had my way, I would tear this old building down.–tagged by tchall
  15. Don’t get in the way there’s nothing you can say,
    Nothing that you need to add or do
  16. But it wasn’t their appearances that made us start to choke
    It’s only that those shoggoths kept on telling knock-knock jokes
    –tagged by the_dark_snack
  17. No one’s noticed, but the band’s all packed and gone.
    Was it ever here at all?
  18. This must be heaven, This is where the rainbow ends.
    And if it’s not the real thing, It’s close enough to pretend.
  19. I’d like to get some sleep before I travel, but if you got a warrant I guess you’re gonna come in–tagged by cashewlou
  20. Goin’ where the climate suits my clothes–tagged by thattallguy201
  21. Pat my fur, touch my tail, I need you to touch my fur, and to touch my tail
  22. I would marry you, but your guineas are too few
    And I feel my mama would be angry-o
    –tagged by ataniell93
  23. Straight off, I bought me a through train ticket, Ridin’ cross Mississippi clean
    And I was on that midnight flyer out of Birmingham Smoking into New Orleans.
  24. One’s for sport and one’s for blood at the point of a knife
  25. One thousand eyes are staring
    They pull away her earplugs
    –tagged by cashewlou
18 comments so far

  1. cashewlou on

    #19: Truckin’ by the Grateful Dead

    #25: Bells are Ringing by They Might be Giants (only my all-time favorite TMBG song! Is this the one you meant?)

    • Correct, and correct! And yes, Bells Are Ringing is the one that I figured you’d scream over missing. There’s still some evil up there, tho. :)

  2. tchall on

    #14: Samson & Delilah by the Grateful Dead

    • Almost. It is in fact Samson and Delilah, but it’s by “Blind” Gary Davis, and only covered by the Dead. But all I wanted was the title, so score! :)

  3. afeldspar on

    2. Jimi Hendrix, “All Along the Watchtower”
    7. The Beatles, “I Want To Tell You”

    • Oh! Bob Dylan wrote All Along The Watchtower. And the version on WinAmp was Phil Lesh and Friends in concert this past February. But all I wanted was the title. And yes on #7.

  4. the_dark_snack on

    16. Banned From Arkham (don’t remember)

    21. Scares me to think about.

  5. billfl on

    13 – “Touch of Grey” by Grateful Dead (maybe)

    • qthewetsprocket on

      that’s what i thought too. as sung by a very drunk and uncharacteristically hostile jerry garcia. :/

    • cashewlou on

      D’oh! Can’t believe I missed Touch of Grey!

      *smacks forehead*

    • Touch of Grey, yes… but this is the original Robert Hunter version. Jerry lightened the song up a little. :)

  6. ataniell93 on

    5. Brokedown Palace
    13. Touch of Grey
    19. Truckin’
    22. Fenario

    Do I even have to say what band? the Dead, of course.

    • beat you to Touch of Grey, beat you to Truckin’, and the last isn’t called that. But I knew I could count on you for Brokedown, certainly. I was actually kinda hoping Althea would pop up, just for you–some of the recordings that turned up were in fact from the ’94 Buckeye Lake show. :)

    • I’ll give you 21–I’ve heard it called ‘Fennario’, but the actual title is Peggy-O (trad.)–yet another folk song that the Dead have breathed new life into.

  7. thattallguy201 on

    #20’s a Dead song, right? Don’t know the title but I remember hearing it somewhere — Going Down the Road or something like that.

    • Oh, the answer to that is an unequivocal “yes and no”. Close enough, though, so I’ll give it to you. The Grateful Dead did make Goin’ Down The Road Feelin’ Bad by Woody Guthrie one of their best-known covers. :)


Leave a Reply

