So, England, then.

With USA and Poland out of the World Cup, I’m backing England the rest of the way. Wow, but it was awful on our boys this year, though.

Oh, and d’you know how good it is to be able to say I’m posting from work? :)

12 comments so far

  1. qthewetsprocket on

    me an’ me mum an’ me dad an’ me gran
    we’re off to waterloo
    me an’ me mum an’ me dad an’ me gran
    an’ a bucket a’ vindaloo! o/~

    seriously, they need to let the us womens’ soccer team play. they would totally hand argentina’s ass to them.

    o/~ we’re gonna score one more than you…ENGLAND! o/~

    • avon_deer on

      My goodness! Someone who went to the same university as me! What are the odds?!

      • qthewetsprocket on

        hey – and you were there at the same time as me! :D *massive yorkshire homesickness* which department were you in?

        btw, i just posted a bunch of links over in my journal that ought to harken you right back to the world cup of your good old college days. :)

        • avon_deer on

          Information and Engineering Systems, based in the Grange, Beckett Park campus. :)

          I have a copy of “The Life of Reily” if you like the Lightning Seeds.

          • qthewetsprocket on

            nifty. :) i was in the northern school of film and tv, located…godiva knows where, actually. weird place that used to be a house with a little courtyard near leeds city centre.

            and ‘three lions’ is the only song i’ve ever heard by the lightning seeds, but if that’s anything to go by then they are catchy britpop songsters to be reckoned with. i’m definitely willing to listen…

            • soundwave106 on

              The other song I can think offhand from them is “Pure”, it’s pretty good Britpop song. It’s from their first album. I think they are most known for their football theme. :)

  2. avon_deer on

    I’m actually hoping England get knocked out. I couldn’t stand it if we won. The world would not hear the end of it for YEARS. People STILL go on about 1966 as if it was yesterday. *yawn*

    Well done on securing the job though.

    • Well, it’s been forty years. You’d think you’re due by now. And just think, in 2046, then *you* could go on about it as if it were yesterday! :)

    • qthewetsprocket on

      oh, come on now. you guys have to win…you all want it so badly, it’s heartbreaking. remember the red sox!

      …i just wouldn’t wanna be in the country when you win, mind. i value my ears, my person and my physical property too much.

  3. thattallguy201 on

    Holland’s still in. :)

    NL vs Portugal, 21:00 CEST (GMT+2) Saturday…

  4. jayteeone on

    You’re backing England and I’m backing Ghana. They kicked USA and CZE tail. Yes, I hang my head in shame, my Czech boys went down in flames. I cry, but only on the inside.

    GO GHANA!!!

  5. the_dark_snack on

    I took England over Germany in the pool I’m in. I figured I’d try to win. Besides, they both have better players than ours (and they’re cuter as well).


Leave a Reply

