Book meme scarfed from .

  1. One book that changed your life?
    That’s really quite hard to say. Several have had imapcts here and there of varying sorts. ‘s Door Into Fire, which was the first time I saw homosexuality as normal and not wierd–it was a beautiful thing, though at the time I didn’t admit to myself why. Margot Adler’s Drawing Down the Moon was key to my early thinking after leaving Christianity. Stephen Hawking’s A Brief History of Time. Ronald Clark’s Einstein: The Life and Times. Yeah, I’m throwing out the ‘one book’ rule right freakin’ now.
  2. One book you have read more than once?
    Again, several–some few so often that I no longer know which one I have read the most. The main culprits for re-reading are Asimov’s core Foundation trilogy plus prequels (the sequel two I didn’t care for), Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four (I have a first US printing hardback that I treasure), the Hitchhiker’s Guide series… and, I dare say, the back issues of our late ‘zine, Vanguard Dossier. Goddammit, some of our stuff rocked.
  3. One book that you would want on a desert island?
    The Compleat Hitchhiker… or The Grateful Dead Songbook and a sturdy guitar … or (should such a thing ever exist and not undergo gravitational collapse) the complete Asimov.
  4. One book that made you laugh?
    D’oh. The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  5. One book that made you cry?
    The Mule’s explanation of himself–a lot of which I could identify with deeply and personally–at the end of Foundation and Empire has been known to choke me up. Outside of actual novels, Barry Longyear’s original novella Enemy Mine and Harlan Ellison’s screenplay for I, Robot wiped me out completely.
  6. One book you wish had been written?
    Oh, anything else by Asimov. Failing that, the one book I’m waiting for that still could happen is the next in Diane Duane’s “Tale of the Five”.
  7. One book you wish had never been written?
    The Bible… and virtually every other religious document. The hell with all of them–from where I sit, organized religion has caused a lot more grief than it’s alleviated.
  8. One book you are currently reading?
    Six Easy Pieces and Six Not-So-Easy Pieces by Richard P. Feynman.
  9. One book you’ve been meaning to read?
    I think there are sill some Asimov books I haven’t got my hands on yet… not to mention the Mike Nelson books, and more Vonnegut. I will read Book Seven of the Potter series, but I’m no longer in any hurry to so do.
  10. Now tag five people.
    Nah. Tag yourselves. In your own journal, for full discussion! :)

Next?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

