Welcome to your new home. You’re doomed, you know.

So the very last of my stuff made it from Old Place to New Place this morning at about 6am, in celebration of which I took a long, hot shower and then slept for eleven hours.

Slowly coming to my senses this afternoon, I fired up TV’s Frankenstein (my computer) and settled in to catch up on LJ, email, etc.

The county alert sirens chose that moment to go off.

Very unusually for late August, we were under a tornado warning. Couple storms came up literally out of nowhere, including one just west of downtown, which is only a mile or thereabouts from here.

My new place is on the second floor, and there is no basement.

Eek.

Obviously, I made it through in once piece, but this is gonna suck. No pun intended.

9 comments so far

  1. surakofb5 on

    I didn’t realize there was a tornado warning. The weather didn’t look right for one, unless it was at the other end of the county. I ignored it and went on about my business. Never did get a chance to turn on the TV and look for info.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Yeah, it ran from about 1845 to about 2000. Surprised everyone–the weather guy on channel 4 kept saying how unusual it was. It was all along the south stretch of the Outerbelt, although a cell did pop up just west of downtown (maybe two miles from me). I just hung out in the courtyard with my neighbors and watched it. The clouds over us were going the ‘wrong’ way, so there might have been some overall rotation, and we were on the northernmost reaches of it. As far north as you are, it probably just looked like mildly cruddy weather–if that.

  2. cirruskitfox on

    Of course Nature waits until I’ve moved somewhere else to unleash it’s wrath.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      It wasn’t really so much wrath being unleashed as it was minor annoyance given a little extra lead. We got rain, and clouds going the ‘wrong’ way, that’s about it.

  3. bizarra on

    Glad you got moved. I got the warnings in my email as a reminder to me that I’ve still got the weather alerts set up to warn me about such things happening in Columbus. LOL

    D’oh… *goes to figure out how to turn them off… or maybe just to eavesdrop on your weather. LOL*

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      *snrk!* I periodically check on friends’ weather–at least when I know there’s meteorological nastiness out their way.

      • bizarra on

        I can’t imagine why I have Orlando’s weather set up on my Weather.com page…. *whistles innocently*

  4. avon_deer on

    We used to get Tornadoes all the time around my old home in East Yorkshire. Of course they were not even close to the power of the American ones, but we still had them. Just how much danger are you actually in? If the answer is “a lot”, then maybe you can force your landlord to install a shelter or something.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I’d call it a code yellow, not a code red, more due to the random nature of these storms than any regular pattern. Besides, he didn’t build the place, it’s just a small (6 unit) apartment block that went up in the late 50s or early 60s. Mostly I was just amused that the first tornado warning explicitly for our area came the first day I was living in a place without a basement.

      Not that a basement would’ve done much good, had it been a major storm. If it’s big enough to knock your house down, I can’t see that being where gravity is going to pull the pieces is a good idea.

      And anyone who’s ever been hit by a F0 or F1 tornado knows that even on the low end, they can pretty efficiently re-arrange your landscaping… they don’t start rearranging architecture until F2 or F3, and when they get up to 4 and 5, they start re-arranging geography.


Leave a Reply

