*boing* *cavort* *frolic* Things that make you happy.

A conversation from yesterday morning with a cow-orker, more or less verbatim:

She: When did you quit smoking?

Me: Last year (omit longish story of my successful battle)

She: Wow, how long were you a smoker?

Me: Oh, almost 25 years. I started when I was seventeen.

She: (stares a while, then finally collects her jaw from the ground) How old ARE you?

Me: Forty-two.

She: Nuh-uh!

Me: Uh-huh.

She: Nuh-uh!

Me: Uh-huh.

She: Nuh-uh!

Me: Uh-huh! Wanna see my driver’s license?

She: Yes! (peruses) Damn!

Me: How old did you think I was?

She: Nowhere near THAT old!

Apparently, forty-two is ancient, but I don’t look it. Now if I could only get carded one last time… :D

7 comments so far

  1. chilayse on

    Happens to me..but being 24, I instead get mistaken for one of the middle school children. *dies*

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Okay, that might be *too* young. :)

      • chilayse on

        It made me stare when I was asked at the school if I was a new student. I had to recover from the shock before responding “No, I’m Bus 28’s driver.” This is a school for 6,7,8…I wouldn’t have been disturbed if it was a highschool.

        Still..looking like you’re 20s-30s at 40 or later is always nice.

  2. the_dark_snack on

    Wow, I am so close to being ancient. Of course, I don’t look my age either. People are honestly surprised I’m over 30.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      With any luck, people will think I’m finally in my forties when I’m in my sixties. We age *real* slow in my family. I had a picture of my great grandmother taken just before she turned 95 that was reliably mistaken for a late-60s/early-70s grandmother, and once when my folks visited me at college, I was asked later if that was “your brother and sister-in-law, or your sister and brother-in-law”. :)

  3. surakofb5 on

    How old was this girl? A co-worker once pointed out that if the age difference is more than 15 years, it’s almost impossible to guess ages accurately. (This was after he announced his plans to retire and I said he couldn’t possibly be that old.)

    Of course, people routinely guess my age at 10 years younger than I am, so I’m used to it.


Leave a Reply

