My speshul effex iz pasted on yey!

So the newly remastered Trek is on right now—’Miri’, an episode I never cared much for anyway. I approve of the cleanup, but I still don’t like the new graphics. They stick out–especially since they didn’t replace effects shots in the closing credits, so there’s a direct visual comparison between the classic ship and the “new” ship within the episode itself. And what in the name of Gene is it doing on UBC* rather than NBC? That just seems weird, regardless of the reason.

Boy, it’s a little weird seeing the old Desilu logo again, too.


* – Un-American Broadcasting Corp.

6 comments so far

  1. argh_jim on

    It’s syndicated to whatever network is carrying Trek locally. Here, it’s “The CW”.

    You must not have purchased classic trek on DVD, else you’d being seeing Desilu quite often.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      As Darth Cheney said of Vietnam, “I had other priorities.” See, I like classic Trek (and better than the successor series), but not so much that–like MST3K–I go out of my way to get the DVDs. They’re not a high enough priority for me. I want B5 first… and I can’t afford those yet. Heck, I still haven’t been able to get MST3K box set 9!

  2. gmhelwig on

    ROFL!

    So glad I ditched TV.

  3. surakofb5 on

    I didn’t notice it on the TV schedule. When is it on?

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Yaknow, I didn’t happen to notice what time it was… it was around 2 or 3pm, tho. I was just innocently surfing channels, and boom.


Leave a Reply

