That Gay Rights meme goin’ around.

This is not to be construed as following that meme.

Obviously, I of all people have no objection to equal rights for the GLBT community, seeing as I fall under the “G” part of that acronym.

What I object to, what I object strongly to, is the assumption in the wording of the meme itself that not posting it in your journal means you don’t support equal rights.

So here’s a comment to the originator of this meme.

Fuck you.

“Agree with me publicly or else your’re against it!” is every bit as reprehensible as “Agree with (Dumbass/the GOP/etc) or else you’re (a turrist sympathizer/a traitor/etc).”

Fuck you.

I am perfectly aware that there are people out there who do not believe in equal rights, for reasons of simple ignorance, religious intolerance, or flat bigotry. Lumping people who don’t follow this meme in with them is just flat wrong.

Fuck you.

Fuck you for showing that there are people as intolerant and close-minded on our side as on the other side. You don’t represent me and you don’t speak for me, and I am perfectly capable of speaking for myself. If you want to know who really believes in equal rights, you have a lot of journals to read. If and when I feel the need to say something on the subject, I will say it in my own words–I have done so before, and I don’t doubt that I will do so in the future.

Oh, and another thing, o meme-originator. Equal rights. That’s what I want. Because that’s about everybody, not just my own little subset of humanity.

I ignore this meme because of your ignorance and intolerance, not out of any of mine.

A note to those who have followed the meme: thank you, I know your hearts are in the right places.

10 comments so far

  1. danaseilhan on

    (moseyed on in here via …)

    Another take on it: People on the left-hand side of the political spectrum don’t always speak up. It’s hard to know you’ve got backing in support of your rights when the people who are supposed to support you according to their supposed beliefs… never really speak up and say they support you. We don’t put on a monolithic face like the Right does (even though they often disagree internally, where the public doesn’t see them doing it).

    Once in a while you just get fed up with people claiming a mindset they’re not willing to proclaim openly, especially when you feel surrounded by people who do not wish you well.

    You could pretty much fill in any minority for that phenomenon, though, not just the LGBT community.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Oh, trying to get Progressives pointed in the same direction is like herding cats on crack. We’re impossible… but therein lies our strength, in that we don’t fear dissent.

      My objection isn’t to expressions of support. It’s to this direct quote from the meme: “If you don’t believe in gay rights, then just ignore this. Thanks.” There are infinitely more reasons than opposing gay rights that one might ignore this meme. One might be in fear of unsympathetic friends and family. One might just object to memes in general and never do them.

      It’s the stark black/white of it: if you don’t post this, you’re against gay rights. That’s the tactics of the Other Side, the monolithic, Stalineque enforced conformity, the unwillingness to brook even the slightest deviation from Big Brother’s party line. If the original meme had said something like, “Let’s see how big a turnout in favor of GLBT rights we can get–please post this in your LJ and pass it on!” I would have no objection whatsoever because that doesn’t make assumptions about the intentions of non-participants.

      Heh. I might add that I’m the husband mentioned helping come out. :)

      • amberfox on

        Oh! *files that in her LJ-interrelations folder*

        Personally, I ignore 99% of memes, so I decline to care what anyone thinks about my non-participation in any particular one. But still, that’s pretty rude there.

  2. janis_and_co on

    Just a side note. I often find that political extremists to the right or left, almost always show intolerance, prejudice & the like. (if you’re not for me, you’re against me.” I think that;s one of the things that categorize them as extremists is the us vs. them mentality, which is one of the reasons we need some major party reform in the country, to represent people who DON’T have that attitude, because the line of bigotry in it’s many hideous forms is getting longer & longer.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      And that’s one of the reasons that most of the Founding Fathers tried to prevent political parties from forming: the tendency for hard “us vs them” lines to form. They wanted Congress to be a group of individuals representing their homes, not a cluster of party and interest blocs. They expected such blocs to form, but on an ad hoc basis, this group getting together to promote this bill, dissolving, another group forming to promote another bill, that sort of thing. Jefferson, Adams and Hamilton would be shaking their heads… who knows what Tom Paine would be doing. :)

  3. janis_and_co on

    Shaking their heads? If they saw what’s sleeping in the Master bedroom suite in the White House, It’d be more like spinning in their graves.

  4. chilayse on

    I ignored the meme. Just because I’m not gay and don’t believe in meme doesn’t mean I don’t believe in equal rights. I simply try to keep politics out of my journal, because it’s a can of worms that I’d rather not open with the large variety of people that read my journal.

    But not posting the meme doesn’t meant I don’t think that gay couples shouldn’t be able to get married and suffer with the marriage choice, and go through agony of divorce if it’s irreparable. I say, they are welcome to it. And those that want children? There’s tons of young children looking for loving homes at the orphanages.

    >.> But extremists seem to view this idea as weird…I’m still confused why. I have to keep pushing for an answer on the why from my father.

  5. avon_deer on

    What meme is this? I have not seen or heard of it. I personal make a point of not replying to memes that request me to. I find it distasteful. To suggest that I am somehow against equal rights if I do not is just downright rude.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Here is the offending text:

      We would like to know who really believes in gay rights on livejournal. There is no bribe of a miracle or anything like that. If you truly believe in gay rights, then repost this and title the post as “Gay Rights.” If you don’t believe in gay rights, then just ignore this. Thanks.

      And yes, it’s spectacularly rude if you ask me.

  6. jayteeone on

    You forgot unpatriotic and a traitor to the US.

    Fortunately there is a Christian left that is open minded enough to let you make up your own mind.


Leave a Reply

