Well, he’d know about wars like this.

Couple days ago on someone else’s journal, I wondered why we hadn’t heard from Henry Kissinger on matters in Iraq. Turns out he considers it unwinnable, militarily.

And Charlie Rangel, a classic liberal Dem with whom I am usually in accord, wants to reinstate the draft. I’m still agin’ it, but he gives better reasons than most I’ve heard–he points out that with a draft, it’s not just poor kids at risk so maybe policy makers will think about the troops first for a change. I disagree, and I think this arguement is unusually naïve. Rich kids–or at least their parents–will be able to shop for a doctor who can find some medical excuse for them or remain “professional students” until the “danger” of serving has passed, and poor and middle-class kids will still be stuck.

5 comments so far

  1. ataniell93 on

    It’s usually the Left that wants to reinstate the draft. This has been the case for like the last 5 years or so, dear.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Of that, I’m aware. It was the reasoning put forth that I was calling into question. A draft-based army can serve a great purpose as a societal equalizer, but a lot of things need to be addressed: gender neutrality (that is, draft women as well as men), the whole “don’t ask don’t tell” policy, dealing with CO status and alternate service–doing Peace Corps, City Year, some other sort of service.

  2. chilayse on

    A lot of lower and middle class kids join the military anyway because college has outpriced anyone but the upper class, even with state funded public universities. Though I knew a family that was very very rich and their son did join the army. Their kids were raised to help any way they can.

    Draft….wouldn’t help anything.

  3. nsingman on

    I find it particularly sad that a descendant of victims of chattel slavery is promoting a bill which, in clear violation of the text of the XIIIth Amendment, would mandate involuntary servitude. There are no acceptable argument for slavery or involuntary servitude in any form, including military conscription, whether during times of peace or war.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I can honestly say I’ve never thought of the draft in terms of the Thirteenth Amendment. I’m not certain that I agree with the reasoning… but I’m not sure that I disagree with it either. I’ll have to contemplate this one.


Leave a Reply

