I love the sizzling pop of neurons frying.

I hadn’t thought there was anyone left who hadn’t seen Katamari Damacy/We ♥ Katamari, but there is, and he was visiting, and I think I frotzed parts of this brain showing it to him–though I think he wants the soundtrack more than the game itself (many tracks of which are earworms). For the record: I am now 23,456 roses in on the long haul to 1,000,000. Yeah, I stop at easily-remembered numbers–next stop will be either 33,333 or 34,567, depending on whether I feel bored or not by the time I get to 33,333. I try to tack on another ½ to 1 per cent every day. The game is nothing short of insidious in the way it eats your brain–even completing it (except for the roses, and I’m still short two or three presents), I want to keep playing to shave precious seconds or add precious millimeters. And besides, it’s so deliciously weird. To borrow a phrase from , it’s proof that Japan doesn’t have a drug problem: they can obviously get all the drugs they want.

Anyway, the admen for Traveler’s Insurance claim their ‘Snowball’ ad was not inspired by the Katamari games, which I might believe except for a couple things: first, it’s the job of your ad firm to know what’s hot and what’s not and that very much includes the console gaming world (especially with an entirely unexpected global hit like the KD/W♥D games); and second, the idea that absolutely no one involved in the project (which included a lot of CGI folks) has ever heard of Katamari or pointed out the similarities until after it was in the can is a little much to ask me to believe.

Gotta stop at Kroger’s this morning for pie parts. :)

4 comments so far

  1. ataniell93 on

    I have actually not seen Katamari. It’s not SPN and I am insanely obsessed right now. You know how I get.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Oh, next time you’re here, I’ll be sure to show it to you. You’re either going to love His Majesty The Queen, or be severely weirded out by him. :D

      • ataniell93 on

        I was just introduced to the concept yesterday by and I have to say, that is a year and a half’s recommended allowance of Vitamin WTF.

        I can’t believe you think Sailor Moon is too stupid for words, but LIKE Katamari Damacy.

  2. biichan on

    When I close my eyes, I can see the katamari. Rolling…rolling…

    The King of All Cosmos reminds me slightly of my dad. Only more colourful and even more nonsensical. (Well, the King drinks and Dad doesn’t, but they both are never satisfied.)


Leave a Reply

