Nothing, nothing and rock and roll (hey, she’s only ten!)

So I find out that what my niece wants morethan anything else this xmas is a guitar–and apparently, she’s getting one.

I approve more than merely wholeheartedly and will be surreptitiously trying to guide her in such a manner that she will ask to come to OVFF with me some year soon. She’s already into Harry Potter, so with the right guidance, she could get tipped into fandom without her even noticing until it’s too late. :)

6 comments so far

  1. nsingman on

    I’ve always thought that children were naturally fen, and only the relentless societal pressure to “mature” and get “serious” sometimes pushes it out of them, or pushes it deep down. So guide her well!

    I’m just glad that I got older, but never grew up. :-)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      We come from a family that loves to play and create and explore, so whatever the schools and life try to do to her, we’ll undo. :)

  2. thattallguy201 on

    I don’t suppose she reads your blog, does she? :)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      No, but we have a family website where we all hang out (and the topics of conversation are apolitical and kid-friendly :)). She just got her first very own email address, and just this week got her own account on the website–I gotta tell ya, myfamily.com is very cool, at least for a mob of a family like mine.

      I don’t think any of my family even knows about my blog anyway. God knows Mom doesn’t, or all I’d hear about is that she doesn’t like me using “that word”. :)

  3. jayteeone on

    Ahh yes the corrupting influence of an uncle. Charlie, my sister’s boy has some work to do, but is learning to do his own thing. My brother’s kids, however, are lost. They live out west, and beyond my grasp, that, and their parents are conservative fundie born agains.

    Granted I was a fundie born again once, at least my politics were liberal.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I leave the spiritual raising of Emily and Maddie up to my sister and brother-in-law. If Emily ever asks me what I believe, I will tell her in a non-prejudicial manner–at risk of sounding self-congratulatory, when I became an atheist, I did not become the “holier” than thou sort who considers believers to be un-intellectual, because I both remember what inner needs belief served in me, and because I am wholly aware that I have a hypothesis, not the answer, and that there’s a huge difference between the two. So if she ever asks, I will tell her in a way that does not belittle her beliefs, or “proselytize” mine.

      Heh. I got a great look from one of my supervisors when, in the wake of a co-worker being asked to remove a Christian-themed desktop image, I asked whether being an atheist meant I was forbidden to have no image at all on my desktop… :)


Leave a Reply

