Okay, a little more settled now.

Thank you, all of you, for your words of support. Thank you especially to for the needles and yarn–that little surprise really made me feel a lot better. *hug!*

Grandma left her body to the local medical college, so there isn’t going to be a funeral as such, but there will be a memorial service in two weeks. It probably won’t really sink in until then that Grandma’s gone. That I have any grandparents left at my age is something of a miracle anyway, I suppose… but I fear that Grandpa won’t be with us much longer, either. When Grandma Schultz died in ’03, Grandpa followed three months later, so I’m trying to steel myself for something depressingly inevitable.

Grandma and Grandpa celebrated their 70th wedding anniversary this year, and have known each other since they met in high school in 1929, seven years earlier. It’s not often that numbers blow my mind, but those do.

We don’t really know what happened yet other than that she just died of old age, just like that. Like a switch being turned off. If you have to go, that’s the way to do it, I suppose. I’m glad she was with us as long as she was, and that my nieces are old enough that they’ll remember their great-grandma.

As far as the car goes, I learned that my car wasn’t the only one hit in our lot, and in a sick way, that made me feel better: it wasn’t just me, I didn’t get singled out by the universe.

Y’all are wonderful. Thanks, everyone–I appreciate your friendship, all of you.

1 comment so far

  1. jayteeone on

    *HUGS*


Leave a Reply

