Somehow, I know I can count on at least one of ya here…

I am going right ’round the bend here–and you all know how short a trip for me that is. Looking for three things. One is video. Two are the names of some toys I grew up with (so if you’re under 35, you’re gonna probably just look at me and go whafuh?)

First, the video. I’m looking for copies of Dynaman, the sentai parody that ran on USA Up All Night (or Nightflight) many moons ago (say, mid-80s). Torrent searches have proved fruitless.

Now, here’s where you need to be an Auld Phart. There were these two toys we used to play with back in the late 60s to early 70s. My little sister remembers them, so let’s say 1971 when she was 2½–but I’m sure the first one predates that by three to five years.

The first was a construction set, or architect playset. Most units were empty square panels into which a wall or window square could be fitted. It might have been a Marx Toy. The best description of it I can give is Lego meets Bauhaus. I have no recollection of the name. Estimated date of release is 1963-1970.

The second is … well, I don’t really know. I don’t recall if it was a game, or just a Cool Thing To Play With. It was probably released between ’71 and ’73. What it was, was a black plastic base into which clear plastic shapes could be fitted (no, not a Lite-Brite), and then lit up from beneath by a small bulb with colored gels. The clear plastic units were kind of swoopy, swirly shapes. I don’t remember whether they were meant to also fit together. And I don’t remember whether this was a game, or just a ooh-cool-pretty-lights things. Again, no idea on the name.

Fingers crossed… I’m countin’ on ya!

9 comments so far

  1. gmhelwig on

    What I need right now is a Sears’ Christmas Wish Book…

    I can picture what you’re talking about, but the names escape me too.

    :P

  2. webpuppy on

    Kenner made a Building set called “girder” right around that time.. you would snap together beams to make squares and then put an insert like aa building window or something into it.
    I dunno if that’s what you were thinking of..

    The other I have NO idea.. but I want one now wherever it is ^^

    • webpuppy on
    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I… hm. I’ll search on that, but I’m pretty sure the wall panels were pre-molded squares (google google google) … no, that’s a different playset. The wall panels were of white plastic. But you give me more search ideas. :)

      • webpuppy on

        NP… i just did an ebay search until I found something that kinda matched the description ^^

        Keep me posted though ^^

  3. soundwave106 on

    I found a link to Dynaman here but I don’t know if it is the Night Flight dub. Probably not I bet.


Leave a Reply

