“Also, I’m a very dangerous fellow when I don’t know what I’m doing.”

It occurs to me, now that I’m watching Destiny of the Daleks, that I was fortunate to have this as my first Dalek episode–Terry Nation script with script editor Douglas Adams’ touches, such as the book ‘The Universe Explained’ by one Oolon Colluphid. It’s still a personal favorite. My first episode ever, though, was The Creature from the Pit, of which I remember naught but Tom Baker falling into the selfsame pit.

How about you? Remember your first episode?

28 comments so far

  1. skjam on

    Technically, “Pyramids of Mars”, though I didn’t see the whole thing for some years.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I think the great majority of old-series Whovians cut their teeth on Tom Baker. When I saw Creature from the Pit, Baker had just within the last year or two retired and Davison was the Doctor… but we hadn’t had any Davison eps make their way across the Big Wet yet.

  2. chilayse on

    Being not entirely into TV at all I was asked to turn on the tv to watch some of the new doctor who episodes on sci-fi.

    Just thought I’d give you the weird person’s answer.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Eccleston or Tennant?

      And I wonder if there’s anyone for who McGann was their first Doctor…

      • chilayse on

        Tennant…It was an episode with a french lady..and a spaceship that wanted to use her for parts…>.> But since then I’ve seen both of the new seasons. Speaking of which did you check youtube? If you do a search for tenth doctor you can see a special 6 min mini ep that was for a fundraiser sometime…

  3. cashewlou on

    Heh. To be totally honest, my first full episode of Doctor Who was the one you showed me over the holiday break.

    And I liked it, though you know it was custom-tailored to my personal bias, and was loaded with ELO and Jeff Lynne references. o(:o)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Well, that’s why I knew you had to see that particular one. And if there was any shot at making a Whovian of you, that particular episode (Love and Monsters) would be your gateway drug. :)

  4. argh_jim on

    Talons of Weng Chiang, I believe, about 10:30 one night on PBS when I was 12 or so.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Another TBaker victim. :)

      Back in ’89 or thereabouts, we got a double dose of PBS goodness: Friday nights on Channel 27 (Bowling Green), and Sunday nights on Channel 56 (Detroit). Channel 30 in Toledo, however, didn’t have it. They coulda wedged it in on Saturday, hell, I had no social life anyway. :)

      • argh_jim on

        It was hard to avoid Baker if you were watching PBS in the late 70s. Pertwee generally wasn’t in rotation.

        We still have double, as far as I know, between the local PBS channel and British Columbia’s version, but I haven’t had BC’s channel since I went to satellite, so I don’t know for certain.

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          WBGU-27 in Bowling Green (Ohio, not Kentucky) had a full rotation, First through Seventh. This meant I got such great eps as “The Terror of the Autons” (see below) and “The Three Doctors” (although WBGU managed to majorly screw it up and broadcast the first half in glorious B&W)… and such clinkers as “The Gunfighters”, wherein Cockney accents stand in for Texan. You don’t even want to imagine an “old western song” sung by a Brit trying–and failing–to cover a Western accent. Ow.

          • argh_jim on

            Well, yeah, but not in the 70s! I think I was in college before I saw my first Pertwee, and that’s because of the local Who ubergeeks who had tapes.

            • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

              As I noted below, discovering Hartnell, Troughton and Pertwee was like discovering The Doctor all over again.

              And Daleks have rocked since day one. :)

  5. crystalgee on

    Hmm I started watching back in the *cough cough* early 80’s I sorta paid attention to “Giant Robot” with Tom Baker. It wasn’t until “Genesis of the Daleks” that I became hooked. Gads, I was glued to the chair not knowing if the Doctor would destroy the Daleks (I never heard of them up to that point-honest).

    Good times :)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Dicovering Hartnell and Pertwee and Troughton after getting hooked by Tom Baker was like rediscovering the show all over again for me. And ‘An Unearthly Child’ and ‘The Daleks’ — story arcs 1 and 2 — are still among my favorites.

  6. bizarra on

    Doctor Doctor…

    My first episode was of course, the last half of Rose. We were on our first night of teh cross country drive to Californy..and YAY the Best Western had Scifi! So we happened on it.. and really, Nine had me at Hello. :-)

    The first episodes/arc of previous Who, was Genesis of the Daleks. And its definately one of my favorites so far. Though I think Two’s Mind Robber arc is hands down my favorite, thus far. (I’m also thinking that after Nine and Ten, Two is definately a favorite Doctor. :-) )

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Re: Doctor Doctor…

      I thought your first was Eight… didn’t you see the TV movie before the series restart?

      • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

        Re: Doctor Doctor…

        And I’ve always loved Troughton. Until McCoy (Seven) came along, he was my favorite.

      • bizarra on

        Re: Doctor Doctor…

        Oh yeah! You are totally right! LOL i forgot about the movie. I did like it, I remember that now. But I generally tend to think of Nine as my first, cause that’s when I really got hooked.

  7. bass_o_matic on

    If I remember correctly, it was “Terror of the Autons”. The Australian Broadcasting Commission was quite a number of seasons behind, but I do remember this one quite clearly.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      You lucky dog. The first Roger “The Master” Delgado episode, as well as the first Katy “Jo Grant” Manning. One of my absolute favorites.

      There aren’t enough green crayons to fully display my envy. :)

  8. billfl on

    The first full episode of Dr Who I ever saw was the first Christopher Eccleston episode. Our local PBS used to show it back in the 1970s, but it didn’t really do all that much for me.

    Although I did see most of one ep (and no, I don’t remember which one) where the doctor’s friends were slowly turning into giant chickens or something. (Hmmm, “Dr. Boo, what’s the matter with you?!?”) Doe that sound vaguely familiar.

    Also, I just thought you should know when I first read your post, I thought you were watching “Dentistry of the Daleks”.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I was already predisposed to want to see new Doctor Who. Eccleston picked me up with “Nice to meet you, Rose Tyler. Run for your life!” and slammed me down in my seat to stay with “Lots of planets have a north!”

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Hee. Dentistry of the Daleks. “EX-PEC-TOR-ATE! EX-PEC-TOR-AAATE!”

  9. dynapink on

    -dropping in from a comm in common, and couldn’t resist this terrific question-

    My early childhood was spent in Somerset, so it would have been impossible to avoid Pertwee’s Doctor. Sadly, I wasn’t enough of a fan and don’t remember anything specific.

    Years later, I caught a couple episodes of what I now know was “City of Death” on WOR. Then I found out Peter Davison had become the Doctor and HAD to find some way to see it. I became a huge Who-fan through the Target books before I finally managed to see the series, but my first all-the-way-through episode was “The Five Doctors.”

    …and that’s all way TMI from a total stranger, sorry. :)


Leave a Reply

