“Outside the gates of Paradise, a peri stood disconsolate…”

So I got my grubbies on The Twin Dilemma, the Sixth Doctor’s first episode (not counting, of course, regenerating out of the Fifth Doctor at the end of The Caves of Androzani).

I remember rather liking Colin Baker’s manic, even rude take on The Doctor when I first saw it in the 80s.

I can’t say it’s aged well on me. Maybe I need to see some later episodes when he’s settled in further–but as I recall, Doc 6 was always rather abrasive. And I was never really a Peri fan anyway (I challenge anyone to find me an American named Perpugilliam).

Ah, well. Time to find me some Troughton, then.

2 comments so far

  1. avon_deer on

    Baker was my childhood era Doctor (I vaguely remember a few Davison episodes).

    I remember a few good episodes. Including one set in a colony under the sea, but I forget the name of it. Demons of the Deep, I think.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Yeah, I’m finding that I don’t dislike CBaker… I just don’t like him as much as I used to. Davison, truth to tell, is my least favorite Doctor. McCoy’s still my top choice. I haven’t sorted out if he’s followed by Troughton or Eccleston… before the restart, it was definitely Troughton.

      My first ep was TBaker’s Creature from the Pit, which I wasn’t impressed with–this was shortly after he’d left the show, so for this side of the Big Wet, it was a fairly recent episode. A later friend turned me on to Hartnell, Troughton and Pertwee–and Colin Baker, for that matter.

      Myself, when I heard Colin Baker was getting sacked, I was pulling for David Dixon (TV’s Ford Prefect) to be the Seventh… but I wasn’t disappointed by the man with ferrets in his trousers. ;)


Leave a Reply

