Meanwhile, on the plus side of the ledger

Some of you may recall last year in this post where I talked about my dad’s diagnosis of chronic lymphocytic leukemia. Obviously, even though it’s way down there on the scariness scale as far as cancers go, they want to keep an eye on it.

Dad went and blew the doctor’s mind. His white cell count went down as if his leukemia were improving, which the doctor says it never does. Dad told him about some Asian berry he’s been getting from the health food store, and the doctor told him to keep taking it and wants to use him as a test trial, in case he’s on to something.

Either that, or my family’s weird all the way down to the cellular level. XD

EDIT: A couple people have asked what it is Dad’s taking–I was wrong, it’s not Asian, it’s Brazilian. He’s taking a suppliment called Ola Acai, which is made from the berry of the açaí palm.

10 comments so far

  1. jungle_goddess on

    That’s great news!

  2. avon_deer on

    Wow.

  3. cashewlou on

    *raises his hand* I vote for the latter. o(:o)

    And I am glad your dad is doing well. He’s kinda my foster dad.

  4. surakofb5 on

    Several potent anti-cancer drugs were discovered in extracts from plants, so I wouldn’t be surprised. But things like managing stress and eating healthy can go a long way, too.

    Of course, we always knew your family was weird. *grin, duck and run*

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Direct quote from many, many people who have met my folks, the most recent of whom to say was Tucker, on our way back from ‘s place after doing some recording for Maureen’s still-unfinished CD project: “Wow… that explains so much.” :D

  5. nsingman on

    Weird, maybe, but in a good way. Great news about your father!

  6. soundwave106 on

    Coolness. :)

    I wonder what that berry is. The first thing I found Googling is goji…

  7. jayteeone on

    Dude, I knew you were weird the first day I met you, forever ago. Of course my weirdness is prtobably why we get along.


Leave a Reply

