All in all, I agree with Barry Goldwater.

Specifically, when he said that “I think every good Christian ought to kick Falwell right in the ass.”

Typically, I’m a believer in not speaking ill of the dead, but I’m about to make an exception.

You think one should only speak good of the dead? Fine, here you go:

He’s dead. Good.

Jerry Falwell had best hope that I’m right and there is no Hell. He was a hateful hypocrite, a bigot, and a racist. This was a man who blamed the events of 9/11 not on Al Qaeda, or Saudi Arabia, or even Saddam Hussein–specifically, here is exactly what he said: “I really believe that the pagans, and the abortionists, and the feminists, and the gays and the lesbians who are actively trying to make that an alternative lifestyle, the ACLU, People For the American Way, all of them who have tried to secularize America. I point the finger in their face and say ‘you helped this happen.’

How about encouraging his parishioners to buy Krugerrands in order to help support apartheid in South Africa, through the 1980s? Calling Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu a “phony” for claiming to speak for black South Africa?

The fraud investigation by the SEC against his unsecured “church bonds” in 1973? Oh, and the deliberate lie told in his official biography that he won the suit and was cleared of the charges. The reality? He admitted that the SEC was “technically” correct back then. And of course, there were fines levied against him by the FEC for illegally transferring church money to political causes.

This is a man of whom even Jimmy Carter was moved to say, “In a very Christian way, as far as I’m concerned, he can go to hell!”

Enough said. Good riddance. I won’t miss him a bit. Sure, I know his friends and family are hurting right now. I hurt when he blamed me as a liberal, a non-Christian and a gay man for 9/11. The country still hurts for the damage, division and hate he’s sown. If he’s lucky, I’m right and there is no god–a far more gentle afterlife fate than he deserves.

11 comments so far

  1. argh_jim on

    You know, you are at least my FOURTH LJ friend to post a “good riddance” email on The Reverend. The consistency of the hatred for the man is more astonishing to me than anything else. I think part of it was not his hatred per se, but that it was cloaked, quite literally, in a “holier than thou” attitude.

    I think President Carter may have gotten his wish.

    • I think President Carter may have gotten his wish.

      I’d almost be willing to convert back to some form of Xianity just so I could think Falwell had gone there.

      Personally, I refused to ever use the title ‘Reverend’ in front of his name. I think I–an Atheist–am more worthy of my ordination (click a link on the Universal Life Church website, bang, you’re a minister) than he ever was of his.

      • argh_jim on

        I don’t think too many people would disagree.

        Question of the evening: How many Republican candidates for 2008 show up at the funeral?

      • jayteeone on

        I don’t serve the church, but you’re a minister in my non-church henceforth. Besides you keep me humble and on the right path and if that isn’t a minister position I don’t know what is.

  2. chilayse on

    I hope he is “enjoying” whatever afterlife there is.

  3. tharain on

    WORD.

  4. surakofb5 on

    Good riddance. *spits*

  5. jayteeone on

    As a student and admittedly poor follower of the teachings of Jesus, I can only offer you condolences for the pain that man has put you through. I can neither explain, nor rationalize the man’s vehement hatred of anyone because as Jesus quoted scripture when He taught us to love our neighbor as ourselves. I try to live this example everyday, and its the Pat Robertsons and the Jerry Falwells of this world that bring that message I try to convey with my life down. I pity Jerry’s fate in hell, but according to Jesus’ very own words Falwell has condemn himself to those fiery depths. I hope you can somehow find peace in the man’s demise so that you make go on living a productive happy life without his shadow hanging over. Athiests can love their neighbor as themselves too, and they can do it without God having told them so.

    • I never considered Falwell a Christian–he certainly never behaved like one. You are a Christian the way I was taught Christianity is supposed to be… jeez, I miss the old ‘liberation theology’ days of the 70s. At the very least, that’s when a significant chunk of the Catholic Church was trying to be relevant to people’s immediate needs rather than just tell them that everything they’re doing is a sin and they need to Stop Right Now.

      I mean, how difficult is it? “The whole of the law is: love God with all your heart and all your mind and all your soul, and love your neighbor as yourself.” That’s it. That’s all Jesus said to do. Everything else is just humans screwing around with the message for their own political or personal reasons. The Ten Commandments, Leviticus, all that do not apply to Christians, partly because Jesus’ law covers it, mostly because he freaking well said so.

      You get that, and you always have, as long as I’ve known you. You–and a few others like you–are the reason that while I’m no longer religious, I’m not bitter about religion in and of itself.

      • gmhelwig on

        I hate fundamentalists specifically because they forgot what the fundamentals are. Does not matter if they are Moslem, Christian, or even Atheist fundamentalists. They seem to have forgotten the concept of actually giving a damn about folks other than themselves.

        There’s a shrub who is a good example…

  6. cashewlou on

    May he burn in whatever hell is appropriate for him, and have the skin peeled from his body for all eternity. And may he be ritually ass-raped by a huge bull queen forevermore.


Leave a Reply

