One is never too old to be a scout.

In this case, the Order of the Science Scouts of Exemplary Repute and Above Average Physique.

I presume a certain amount of fudging is allowed on the matter of an above average physique. I leave it to the imagination what badges (of course there are badges! You can’t be a scout without badges!) I qualify for. I may fess up if asked. ;)

EDIT: For the record, I qualify for 21 of the 74 badges, in one way or another. Now I’m scaring myself…

EDIT EDIT: On second count, 24 of 74. Yike. Admittedly, some require a little bit of a stretch, but I figure it’s like the Purity Test: all technicalities count.

9 comments so far

  1. reynard_t_fox_3 on

    Ok this is scary.. I got 22

    • Now, the “Special Auxiliary Child Member of the Order of the Science Scouts” one I gave myself in Emeritus status, since I’m not a child anymore… but I figure I deserve it for assembling a mechanical binary computer when I was eight and calculating a Skylab overflight in 1973 when I was nine. :)

  2. cashewlou on

    I know what a tadpole is! o(:o)

    I may try to take this test tonight when I get home from work.

    • My favorite one (and one I am glad I do not qualify for) is the “I have to wash my hands before using the restroom” badge. :)

      • cashewlou on

        Wow, I so suck; I only got 10:

        Destroyer of Quackery
        I Can Be a Prick when it Comes to Science
        Will Gladly Kick Sexual Harasser’s Ass
        Has Frozen Stuff Just to See What Happens-Level I
        I’ve Done Science with No Conceivable Practical Application
        I Know What a Tadpole Is
        Experienced with Electrical Shock-Level III
        I’m into Telescopes Astro-Level I
        Statistical Linear Regression
        I’ve Set Fire to Stuff-Level I

        Not only do I not qualify to be Dr. Paul Armstrong; I don’t even qualify to eat Betty’s delicious tapioca pudding!

        • You know, if you qualify for Electro Shock Level III, by definition you qualify for I and II. :)

          (Me, I have separate qualifications for those three levels… don’t ask. XD)

          Uhm, and you’ve looked through the Schottland at Perkins. That’s professional glass, give yourself I’m Into Telescopes Astro-Level II.

          Egad, I qualify the “I’ve Done Science With No Conceivable Practical Application” and “I Can Be A Prick When It Comes To Science” badges, come to think of it. So, 23/74.

      • surakofb5 on

        I do qualify for that one. Anyone who works in a chemistry or biology lab does. Any time I’ve been in a lab, I wash my hands.

        I came up with 28.

        I’m being a bit generous in giving myself credit for some of these badges that are a stretch, like the MacGyver badge, and the rock star badge (hey, I did female vocals for Cylons on the Screen). Some are not a stretch, like Statistical Linear Regression, and Kicking Sexual Harasser’s Ass. Sadly, I don’t meet the Publication badge requirement, since my publications had circulations of less than 50,000. I wish I didn’t qualify for “science forced me to seek medical attention.”

        • Come to think of it, I think being able to play David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” ought to count for something… not to mention accompanying any number of space/science related filks. 24/74.

          Say… how hard would it be to needlepoint real badges? (he asked innocently…)

  3. thattallguy201 on

    Aha!

    25! (Under the Purity Test rules.) Pirating comes from the Flying Spaghetti Monster work. MacGyvering I thought was a stretch but on reflection I’ve come up with a half dozen examples, not counting computer hacks….

    The one I missed that I most wanted was “World’s Foremost Expert on an Obscure Subject” — I can claim to be in a group of foremost experts but not *the* foremost… Wait! I’m an expert on me, and I’m obscure! 26!! :D


Leave a Reply

