I hate trends.

So what is it that most glasses nowadays are these little slivers of glass with no coverage looking up or down, and most wristwatches are these huge lumps of glass and metal? I should much prefer a larger lens (and it took me a while to find one, but I did) and a smaller watch.

7 comments so far

  1. surakofb5 on

    Huge lenses were trendy in the ’80s and early ’90s. I thought they would help with my peripheral vision (they didn’t), but after I got smaller frames in the late ’90s, I swore I wouldn’t go back. Why?

    Weight.

    Typical eyeglass lenses are thin in the middle and get thicker the farther you get from the focal point. Weight increases exponentially with weight. Since I had Coke bottle lenses to begin with, I was all for smaller, lighter lenses.

    The rest is just fashion, and you’ll have to take that up with the Illuminati.

    • surakofb5 on

      Ahem.

      Weight increases exponentially with diameter.

      • *snicker* Yes, but the idea of forever squinting through an oblong the width and length of my pinky to the second joint is unappealing to me. Heck, my first pair when I was seven were horn-rim bifocals made of glass… I know my mom misses her Dorothy Hamills–she kept the same frame through several prescriptions until they refused to fit a lens to it anymore.

  2. janis_and_co on

    sheesh. tell me about it.. I hate the teeny tiny frames. they are unflattering to my face & I am unable to see out of the corner of my eye. Do glasses manufatuers/the Illumiati not realize that people have different faces??

    • I toyed, briefly, with the idea of a seriously retro pair of frames, but talked myself out of it. I don’t need to enhance my age. :)

  3. thattallguy201 on

    Not an overwhelming fan of the look — brings to mind a hood from one of the Bond movies (Nordic, skiier, blond, if any of those don’t overlap too much) — but as one of those people who finds myself looking *under* the glasses more and more at things close-up, I can’t say I’m sorry about the function…

    • As one of those for whom looking under the glasses means presbyopia and astigmatism in full force … gimme a larger lens. :)


Leave a Reply

