Many moons ago, and I started a ‘zine–a shared-universe APA, really–called Vanguard Dossier. We were later joined by , by , by suburbanbanshee, and many others who are not to my knowledge on LJ or WordPress, and in a later incarnation by and .

Many of the things I did in there I still consider to be some of my best writing to date — a fact which doubtless amuses both and , because they got to see first hand how much of a stresspuppy and self-critic I am of my own work. :)

Anyway, we had a mini-get-together on Monday — just me, Jeff and Lisa, and Chris R. suburbanbanshee was going to be there, but she took ill unfortunately. She is feeling better now, happily.

Jeff and Lisa’s daughter is seven now, which is a mind-blower. That’s half the age of my younger cat, which is also a bit weird to contemplate.

Looking back over our twenty-four issues plus one special, plus the one restart issue, I have to say that I haven’t been that steadily and reliably and fundamentally creative since then. A couple well-received MSTings (solo and et al.), some stray fanfic, but I keep looking back and thinking, Dayamn, I peaked already and missed it!

Which I know is ridiculous. It’t not like I’ve stopped thinking or creating, but I just haven’t found a way to be so focused since then.

I’d love to see it all start up again, but that’s unlikely. We all have lives now, and I can’t find half the old team. Meanwhile, Jeff and Lisa have lent me some back issues I have not been able to find in my files, so I’m moving ahead with the PDF-on-CD version for the old team. I have no expectation of making it available to anyone who wasn’t already involved in Vanguard, so please don’t ask. Too many rights issues involved–it’s not my place to decide to disseminate other people’s work. I could release mine, but it would be in a vacuum, almost meaningless without the rest of the universe they were part of, and most of my stories mention other creators’ characters.

I plan to correct a few typos and some raw grammatical errors, but leave it otherwise as published. Although I wonder, and this is a question for anyone (former Vanguarders’ opinions will carry more weight with me, though, since its our stuff we’re talking about): would it be appropriate to correct glaring factual errors, so long as they don’t punch a hole in the story? Or is the “historical” record itself more important?

Either way, it damn skippy was fun while it lasted.

7 comments so far

  1. nsingman on

    I think the ideal solution would be to release an annotated version, with notes on the errors and even just the context.

    As an aside, I didn’t know you knew John Palmer. He and I met via alt.callahans, years ago, and we’re on each other’s LJ friends list.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Off and on since, oh, ’84, I think? He was a freshman my senior year at Wooster, or something close to that.

      That might be a solution, if I can embed pop-up notes or hyperlink to them. It leaves the original accessible.

  2. surakofb5 on

    Oh, I wish I had known Jeff & Lisa were in town. I barely saw them at Marcon this year. I got home late Sunday night, so I was actually here.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      They weren’t — I went up to Cleveland. :)

      • surakofb5 on

        Ahh. Well, that’s different now, isn’t it?

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          It was a pretty easy drive, just a scootch under 2.5 hours, all but the first and last miles and a half on the interstate. First time I’ve been up that way since Oroboros’ farewell concert–and that was in ’98, I think. Maybe ’99.

  3. sniderman on

    I have no idea if you’ll ever see this message. But I did a Google search for “Vanguard Dossier” and was stunned to find one or two refs from the old days. Just posting to say “Puzzler says ‘Hey.'”


Leave a Reply

