Annoying, and ANNOYING.

Had to have my car towed home again.

What I should be annoyed about is the fact that my car is broken again, for the second time in as many months, and I flat can’t afford to have it fixed any time soon.

What I am annoyed about is the premonition I had walking up to it in the parking lot that something was grotesquely wrong with it. I mean, I knew there was something wrong with my car, even though I had just driven it back from the store not an hour beforehand (without incident or symptoms), even though what is wrong with it is utterly and completely not visible externally.

Because I can’t think of a good reason how it is I should’ve known something was about to go awry. It doesn’t fit with my world view. I don’t want to accept premonitions as a real part of the universe, not without a good scientific explanation, and I can’t think of even a passable one at the moment.

The universe can go fuck itself for a while and leave me the hell alone.

15 comments so far

  1. jayteeone on

    Sorry dude, it won’t do that. Science just hasn’t reached the ability to explain premonitions yet. As a lover of SciFi you know that magic and other mysteries are just technology that science hasn’t figured out yet. So the premonition does figure into your scientific world view, but in the category of an unexplainable event.

    Maybe you need to expand your world view slightly.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Oh, that’s exactly where it is filed: ‘unexplained event’. The Universe can still bugger off and leave me and my wallet alone for a while.

      Currently I’m working with an outline theory about quantum time… but I haven’t the math to know if I’m blowing smoke or not, and it comes uncomfortably close to the Copenhagen Interpretation, with which I have philosophical differences.

      • jayteeone on

        Just beware the God equation, it has a nasty habit of popping up all over the place.

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          Yeah, but I prefer to think of it as ‘heretofore unexplained natural phenomenon awaiting full analysis’. :)

  2. surakofb5 on

    If you want a logical theory, it’s possible that you have that vague premonition *every* time you walk out to the parking lot, but you only *remember* having it when something goes wrong.

    Or the universe really is out to get you, and the timing sucks. Take your pick.

    (sorry about the run of bad luck)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      In Yiddish, there’s a word: schlemozel. Most people only know it from the opening theme to “Laverne and Shirley”. The schlemiel is the guy who goes through life forever spilling soup.
      The schlemozel is the guy it gets spilled on.
      I think that’s my rôle in the universe.

      • johnpalmer on

        Apropos of nothing, I’ve often wanted to write about a character who used up his bad luck on stupid stuff, and then was unbelievably lucky when it *really* mattered. Just to make it a bit more spooky, it’d always look like the unbelievable good luck was actually bad.

        “The assassin’s bullet was headed straight for him. They say you never hear the one that has your name on it.

        “We’ll never know; a pigeon swooped down at that very instant. A pigeon can’t stop a high powered rifle bullet… but as the bullet passed through the pigeon’s body, it was deflected enough to miss him by inches. He jumped away from the sound of the bullet pulverizing the vase a few feet away from him.

        “The assassin had gone back under cover right after firing and waited for the sound of the bullet striking home, and the body thumping to the ground. Instead, he heard ‘Aw, damn it! I dropped my ice cream cone! I was looking forward to that cone all day. Why does all this bad stuff happen to me?'”

  3. johnpalmer on

    Here’s hoping the universe does just that.

    Keep in mind that premonitions can be hunches – your unconscious putting pieces together that you can’t figure out consciously. It can also just be you feeling a random bit of dread (the proverbial goose walking over your grave) and then something happened… not a premonition, just a bad feeling that happened right before something else went wrong.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Yeah, but I just can’t imagine what possible cues there were that I might’ve put together into “My car is *really* fucked up and I’m going to regret turning the key”. There really was no possible external indication.

      • johnpalmer on

        Well, if you could imagine what the cues were, it wouldn’t have been a hunch (an unconscious processing of cues you didn’t quite realize you’d noticed); it would have been “damn it, I knew that X was a bad sign!”

  4. ataniell93 on

    I know I’m late, but maybe this will help?

  5. gmhelwig on

    While Quantum Physics confuses the Hell out of me, I find there are some explanations in there for some of my odder experiences.

    Such as that dream I told you about.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      If you find quantum physics confusing, then you have grasped the essence of it. And if you think QM is bad, you ought to be around when Black Ops Ben and I really get going and start discussing Ed Witten, M theory, eleven dimensional space, &c. ;)


Leave a Reply

