Very, very sad. :(

The younger of my two cats, Mavis, passed away sometime earlier today. I had just gotten up, called my sister (who had called me to tell me that my dad’s heart procedure went off without a hitch–just a mild shock to put it back in rhythm), and went out into the living room/kitchen area to feed the cats.

Mavis was stretched out on the couch like she was asleep; if anything, she died the same way as my paternal grandmother and maternal grandfather — she just sort of switched off. She seemed fine last night; apparently, it was just her time.

She was about 14½ — I never knew exactly when she was born, we usually marked it at the end of July. I’ve had her since Halloween of 1993. Random is being unusually clingy today, not that I find that surprising.

And just to top things off, the car conked out at the vet’s where I left her body, and had to be towed home.

I have had better days.

17 comments so far

  1. tchall on

    *hugs* I’m glad your father’s heart procedure went well, but also very sorry to hear about Mavis. It is always hard to lose loved ones. Hugs again.

  2. soundwave106 on

    Sorry to hear about this.

  3. ataniell93 on

    Oh, sweetheart, I am so so sorry.

  4. jungle_goddess on

    So sorry about Mavis.

  5. bizarra on

    I’m sorry to hear that. I hadn’t realized she was 14. Had it really been that long. Give Random some scritchies from us.

  6. eviljen on

    *hug*

    Mavis will always exist somewhere in the MOOniverse.

  7. surakofb5 on

    My deepest sympathy for your loss.

  8. gmhelwig on

    *sheds a tear* At least one out of three things was good news.

  9. joecoustic on

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    *hugs*

  10. nsingman on

    Our condolences on poor Mavis’s passing.

  11. thattallguy201 on

    What they said.

  12. gorgeousgary on

    *hugs* Sorry to hear about Mavis.

  13. jayteeone on

    I’ve lost cats in the past. It hurts. I’m sorry.

    *hugs*

  14. rms_butterfly on

    *hugs* So sorry to hear of your loss. It’s never easy, even when it’s an older cat or dog.

  15. janis_and_co on

    Oh Honey.
    So very sorry..*HUG*

  16. cashewlou on

    *snugs* I am very sorry to hear about Mavis. Once she discovered I wasn’t an axe-wielding maniac, she kind of adopted me as her human when I lived there.

    Even though she was an older cat, she will always be the kitty in my mind.

  17. johnpalmer on

    Oh, poor Mavis… hugs and comfort to you.

    It’s good to hear about your dad, though.


Leave a Reply

