Hippie new year, y’all.

Still sorting through xmas … I got absolutely floored by one of my gifts.

See, Mom and Dad renewed their vows their past anniversary, their 45th. And they both got new rings: Mom had lost hers a long time ago and was wearing a “stand-in” that Dad gave her at their 25th anniversary.

Now they both have new matching rings.

I was given Dad’s original wedding band. Dave got Dad’s 25th anniversary band, Jenni got Great-Grandma’s wedding ring.

I was just flattened. I mean … yeah. Flattened.

Anyway, I’m off to the Short North to nose into a few reputable jewelers to see what it would take to have it resized. What fit on Dad’s ring finger doesn’t even fit on my pinky… I never realized my hands were that much larger than his.

A week later, I still get a little verklempt opening the box and looking at it.

Maybe someday when the laws change or I live in Canada, and have met the right guy, I can wear it for the same purpose myself.

Edit: I have been advised by a jeweler not to resize the ring, as it’s bimetallic and would have to be taken up about 4½ sizes to fit my ring finger If it weren’t a double band, they might be able to do it, but it’d still be a hell of a resize. It could be stretched maybe to make a pinkie ring out of it. But neither way can guarantee the safety of the ring, so I’ll just leave it as-is.

3 comments so far

  1. gorgeousgary on

    Happy New Year!

  2. surakofb5 on

    Wow.

    Yeah, resizing up is tough. It’s always easier to make the ring smaller. You might put it on a chain and wear it that way.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I expect I will do exactly that. Mom put up a picture on the family site of me when I opened the box and realized what it was — I looked like I’d just been hit with a ball-peen hammer. I was stunned.


Leave a Reply

