Oh, my…

Finally saw Torchwood Season 2 Episode 1, “Kiss Kiss Bang Bang”.

I didn’t watch Buffy. I am aware only in an intellectual sense that James Marsters played a character thereon, about whom I know nothing.

So I don’t care about that. Just like ‘School Ties’ on Doctor Who a season ago. Well, sorta. I was deeply amped for the return of K-9 that time. Wasn’t a Sarah Jane fan especially, and really couldn’t care less about a Buffy actor appearing.

So.

It was okay, with a couple of really great lines. But I can’t say I’m particularly impressed with Captain John. So he is to Captain Jack as the Master is to the Doctor.

Except for the snogging, of course. The idea of Jon Pertwee and Roger Delgado, or Sylvester McCoy and Anthony Ainley, making out is a little stomach-twisting.

Tennant and Simm… well, maybe that’d be fun to watch. XD

Verdict: satisfied. Not really all that thrilled with the character of Captain John, but I’m willing to give it a chance. Definitely happy to see Jack deciding to spend more time with Ianto (no doubt Captain John will attempt to be an obstruction to that). Delighted to see Gwen done with Owen (who I hope will be happy with Tosh, even if he is a jerk).

It’ll be interesting to see how much more Rhys will learn of Gwen’s world… although the show is suffering a little multiple personality disorder where public knowledge of Torchwood is concerned. Rhys seems utterly clueless to their existence. But a little old lady crossing a street at night knows enough about them to comment “Bloody Torchwood!” as they go chasing a blowfish in a sports car… knowledge of Torchwood is being treated as a plot device rather than something well-settled in the show’s “bible”, and this is not good. If it’s supposed to be a top-secret X-Files sort of agency, little old ladies crossing the street should not have enough knowledge of them to remark on them.

Yeah, yeah. Repeat to yourself it’s just a show, I should really just relax. :D It’s just one of those inconsistencies that bother me.

10 comments so far

  1. chilayse on

    I was rather confused as to why the old woman knew about them…but I gave up trying to figure that out.

    You do realize there are probably entire fan groups already dedicated to the latest incarnations of the doctor and the master.

  2. argh_jim on

    I think it’s their TRCHWUD plate that gives it away.

    Epi was good, if rather on the predictable side. And I thought that finding the paralyzed Gwen was a little Deus Ex Machina. Literally, come to think of it.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I wanted to see Jack shove John into the rift, explosive attached. But it’ll be interesting to see what they do with Captain John. We might get a fwe more details about Jack’s history.

  3. the_dark_snack on

    We finally got to see the episode last night. Oh the snogging was excellent. Captain John isn’t perfect but he does add something to Jack’s backstory that we really have needed. He did have some fantastic lines.

    One thing though, we DVR’d the episode and it cut off prior to Jack uttering whatever he did as the rift closed. Could you tell me what he said? I’m dying to know.

    I didn’t realize until last night how much I’ve missed Barrowman’s incredible sexiness. I would so be his fag hag.

  4. wordslinger on

    I tend to find ensemble shows kind of “nyeeehh…” I’m ambivalent about Torchwood (except for the hot guys snogging bits).

    I think I might like it better if it had a strong focus on one or two characters (the “buddy show” concept) rather than the scattered softer focus of an ensemble team.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Well, Jack and Gwen are clearly the lead characters. There’s a hell of a supporting cast, though. I like that, though. My goal for this season is just to see Ianto look less uptight all the time. :)

  5. thattallguy201 on

    Yeah, yeah. Repeat to yourself it’s just a show, I should really just relax. :D

    No it’s not just a show, it’s not it’s not it’s not! :)

    Actually it’s not. It’s a world. And one of the rules of being all creator-y and Godlike is that you have to be consistent (c.f. Heinlein’s Job.) So g’head and pick.)

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      As an old Doctor Who fan, I know there’s only a limited amount of nitpicking one should do… remembering the days of a sixpence for effects, and Auntie Beeb expected change. But still, that’s something that really needs to be sorted out by the script editor.

  6. caindog on

    The SUV has the word “Torchwood” embossed in large friendly letters on both sides of the window frame. The police seem aware of Torchwood and know they’re some kind of special unit without knowing exactly what it is they do. Maybe this is an effect of a post-Battle of Canary Wharf world or maybe it’s the effect of having a semi-public side and a very-private side to the organization. Or maybe the old lady just read it off the side of the vehicle.

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      I didn’t notice it printed on the side of the vehicle; I watched it on my monitor rather on the TV, which meant a smaller image for my poor old eyes to focus on. It’s just that for what’s supposed to be a supersecret organization, a lot of people sure seem to know who they are.


Leave a Reply

