Coolest thing I’ve seen all week…

Element Coins: cent-sized tokens struck from essentially pure samples (99+%) of elements, including some damn obscure ones. NOt just the usual suspects like gold, silver, platinum, copper, but the stunningly obscure like yttrium and dysprosium and lutetium and praseodymium. They also mint gallium. They suggest storing it in the fridge, since it can melt in direct sunlight. :D

They say they’ve almost sorted out how to strike carbon and sulfur, which blows my mind. I need this collection — albeit at the prices of some of the strikes, I will gather it but very slowly.

6 comments so far

  1. argh_jim on

    That is cool… but they need to develop changing imprints for radioactive metals!

  2. billfl on

    This is cool beyond words. Maybe they’ll even issue gas-filled tokens for hydrogen, ocygen, krypton, etc.

  3. surakofb5 on

    Oh, wow, the ultimate science geek collector’s item! I was surprised by the prices. Some of those metals cost much less than I expected. Some cost much more

    I would think that the carbon is sintered rather than struck. Although if they start with slightly expanded graphite sheets, it could compress to take the shape without breaking. As for sulfur, I remember making amorphous sulfur in high school chemistry, and it’s relatively pliable, so I don’t see a problem.

    I want to see them strike silicon…


Leave a Reply

