Many things!

Boy, have I been remiss in keeping up here.

Anyway, I’ve been laid off, which is not as bad as it sounds because the job I had was horrible and was driving me right round the bend and worse, I was drinking more than I should. At least I have something to do in my free time: my 64Mb memory card for my PS2 went belly-up, losing my progress in every game I’ve played over the last four years, excluding We [heart] Katamari and Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2005. I’ve been working on re-winning ‘Destroy All Humans’ first.


I don’t know what took me so long to discover the filk channel on live365.com. But there’s something cool about hearing people you know–and in some cases have played with–on the radio, even if it’s Internet radio. It’s getting me in the right headspace for OVFF next month.


All I have to say about the health care ‘debate’ is that I believe in single-payer. While it’s a fair topic for debate, like Barney Frank I have no interest in trying to talk to the dining room tables who scream ‘Nazi!’ at anyone who disagrees with them.

I also don’t understand their interest in defending the 37th best health care system in the world. What we have is broken, and something has to be done. Whether that’s a dual public-private system, or single-payer, or a private system with strong regulations that prevent the insurers from denying coverage capriciously, that’s a fair and necessary debate.

Hopefully the children will clear the field and let the grownups get on with the work that needs to be done.


Can you imagine the whining from the GOP if a Democrat had yelled ‘You lie!’ at Dumbass during one of his deceptionfests before Congress? Filthy hypocrites. Wilson owes the House an apology for unbecoming conduct.

I have come to the conclusion that the really extreme and virulent opposition, the lunatics who carry weapons to Obama events (“But it’s okay, they’re unloaded”–no, it bloody well isn’t since you can’t tell on sight whether a gun is loaded or not!), the assholes like Joe Wilson who can’t even manage basic decorum, the dining room tables in whose strange world a mixed-race man and a gay Jew are “Nazis”, that this is nothing but plain old fashioned racism hiding itself under “policy differences”.

There’s nothing wrong with disagreeing with the President. That’s a fundamental right, and ultimately, it’s the way things get done, by plotting a course boths sides can live with since only rarely does either party have enough of an overwhelming majority to do its will heedless of the opposition. I disagree with Obama on a few issues. And there was at least one issue on which I agreed with Dumbass–at least only one comes to mind right now: the invasion of Afghanistan. It’s a little weird to think that Darth Cheney and I are on the same side of the gay marriage debate, but there we are.

But the hate, the frothing-at-the-mouth sociopathic lunatic hate from a small but extremely vocal minority, scares the ever-lovin’ bejeezus out of me. And what’s worst is that the corporate media covers them because they bring in viewers, without any heed for the fact that they’re providing legitimacy to a fringe element of society.

I might also ask where their fascination was with extremists on the left during the previous eight years. Oh, wait. They don’t dare show that. Someone might agree with them, or at least with some of what they were trying to say.

Color me both disturbed and disgusted. I really miss Walter Cronkite, and news departments that were considered a public service rather than a propaganda arm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

