Please fly the Internet at half mast.

I am only just learning that Michael S. Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, passed away earlier this week. As a relatively new owner of an ebook reader, I have been periodically raiding Project Gutenberg for material, and discovering exactly why classic literature becomes and remains classic. How I reached my current age without having yet read The Art of War or Dostoevskiy’s The Idiot seems incomprehensible to me now — and those are in translation! In my own native language, I have discovered the joys of Abbott’s Flatland and rediscovered the exquisite English of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and the Holmes stories. I’m diving into the original Dracula by Bram Stoker right now and finding it to be… not quite the story I expected, bits and pieces I recognize from various movies and a lot that I don’t.

I recommend, in honor of his passing, that you read a book. Online.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

