There exists one Republican with a sense of honor.

While there is no defending Elizabeth Lauten’s comments about Sasha and Malia Obama, she has had the decency to do the proper thing: she has apologized for her remarks and resigned her position, and I applaud her for being the first Republican I can think of in the last 15 years to have acted honorably upon making a gross and offensive error in judgment, rather than try to make like it’s nothing or even okay — or that calling her on it is “intolerant”.  I think I’m mostly shocked that a Republican has actually apologized; I’m pretty sure that gets her thrown out of the party.

Now if only all the other Republicans who’ve said deliberately racist, deliberately dishonest, and/or deliberately hateful things about the Obamas would do the same.  One suspects that would leave the Congress without a quorum in either house…

4 comments so far

  1. Paul Cales on

    I hold my judgment until I see who she ends up working for in the next few months. If she’s still in politics or hired by a think tank or someone on Wall Street then … doesn’t seem like resigning hurt her much, eh?

    • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

      Oh, I expect someone to snap her up in short order–which will say more about her new employers than it does about her–but at least she owned up and did the right thing without an extended period of whining that she’d done nothing wrong and/or that it was a “liberal media plot”. First instance I can think of in a long time of a Repub doing that.

      • Paul Cales on

        I agree with you and applaud the apology. The resignation is the part that seems meaningless to me with the way politics in general and Republican politics in specific treats quitting or getting fired from a job and then *magically* having a better job somewhere else, usually provided by some political figure who was somehow helped in the fiasco that made the first person resign/get fired.

        • The Rev Dr Sherwood Forrester on

          Yeah, I don’t think the Vast Right Wing Conspiracy will leave her hanging for long, although I think they’ll quietly get her a comparable post in a think tank or something. This particular wound definitely appears more self-inflicted than driven from behind the scenes, though.

          What amazes me about all this is just how small-minded and picayune they are! I mean, really, complaining that a teenaged girl dresses? Can’t that complaint be leveled at just about every teenaged girl in the country?

          And at least they’re not out underage drinking like Dubya’s girls. So much for family values…


Leave a Reply

