Archive for June 26th, 2015|Daily archive page

Wow.

I don’t often shed a tear over the news, and even more rarely one of happiness.  I really hadn’t expected anything quite so sweeping; I figured there would be a narrow decision requiring states to recognize marriages performed in other states and then punting on the question of equal marriage.

There have already been marriages in downtown Columbus, right out in front of the county courthouse.

And if this isn’t a reminder of the dangers of a Republican administration next year — what kind of person do you want named to the court in case of a vacancy?  Someone who believes in equal protection under the law, or another Scalia?

Today, perhaps, the country changes.

It’s a little weird to contemplate that when I wake up around noon, equal marriage may be the law of the land by Supreme Court decision.

May be.

It’s appalling that we can’t be sure of the outcome in this day and age.  The correct decision is blindingly, agonizingly obvious, and yet we cannot be sure that the Supreme Court will reach it.

It’s my bedtime now.  I really hope that when I wake up, it’s in a better, more equal country.