Stray thoughts, one meme answered, another awaits answers

Stray Thoughts

Maureen is a wonderful wonderful person. She provided me with the new Dr Who eps when I saw her in Dayton on Saturday morning. Why is Eccleston leaving? He’s a great Doctor!

Anyway, Dayton–it’s always good to do a major nicey for your agency. I got a call Thursday afternoon that they needed someone to take a 15 hour shift in Dayton Friday night to babysit a new PC rollout. And it moves me a little closer to being a team lead and getting more money and presumably more and better assignments. Go me!

As for Dayton, the traffic sucks rocks at 150 psi. I hit I-75 at about 5:30, with half an hour to cross the ten miles to get downtown and get to work. It took an hour. Why the hell is traffic backed up seven miles heading into downtown during Friday rush hour? Shouldn’t they be leaving?

The Meme That Needs Answers

Scarfed from dragonscholar:

Tell me what fictional character (or characters) I remind you of, and preferably also tell me why I remind you of that character.

The character can be from books, film, anime, TV, or comics, but should preferably be from a source I’m likely to know or to which you can point me for reference.

Post this to your LJ and I (or others) can tell you who you remind us of.

(Personally, I’ve always reminded myself of Asimov’s Mule, except without the megalomania and stuff)

The Answers To An Old Meme

Man, not many got my book meme. I’m particularly astounded that no one got #5, especially this past week.

  1. One of the most central notions of this book is that of a formal system.
    From the astounding Gödel, Escher, Bach by the equally astounding Douglas Hofstadter.
  2. I feel silly asking this, holding the book and all, but what is Mystery Science Theater 3000? — Tagged by 66_pony: The Mystery Science Theater Amazing Colossal Episode Guide
  3. The hottest day of the summer so far was drawing to a close and a drowsy silence lay over the large, square houses of Privet Drive. — ID’ed by userinfocashewlou: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  4. A squat grey building of only thirty-four stories.
    Oh, dear. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
  5. The house stood on a slight rise just on the edge of the village.
    Friends, I’m just embarrassed that no one got this: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams
  6. I looked at my notes and I didn’t like them.
    Tsk. Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot
  7. Don’t throw up.
    Not surprised this one didn’t get tagged. A Good Walk Spoiled, by golf writer extraordinaire John Feinstein
  8. It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen. — Also ID’ed by userinfocashewlou: Nineteen Eighty-Four
  9. Herewiss sat crosslegged on the parquet floor, his back braced against the wall, his eyes closed, and concentrated.
    Az, I was sure you’d get this one. Diane Duane’s The Door Into Fire
  10. Stock cue SOUND: “Presenting SCANALYZER, Engrelay Satelserv’s unique thrice-per-day study of the big big scene, the INdepth INdependent INmediate INterface between you and your world!”
    One of the most difficult books I’ve ever read, but entirely worth the effort: Stand on Zanzibar, by John Brunner.

3 comments so far

  1. ataniell93 on

    EEP!! I missed this meme! That’s why I didn’t get it!

    I have been having trouble getting all of my huge friendslist to display; I have also been missing posts. Sorry!! *hugs*

    *WANTS those Dr Who eps*

    • Can you handle DVD+/-R disks? I think maybe something could be arranged, Who-wise…

      I have only got the chance to watch the first ep (“Rose”) but I gotta say I’m impressed.

      I figured it would be a race between you and to nail the Rowling line. :) As for me, I was glad to dig up my old copy of ‘Door…’ and give it the first re-read it’s had in several years.

  2. ataniell93 on

    Fuck, I know most of those lines!!!


Leave a comment